Skip to main content
18 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 17, 2013 at 15:47 history bounty ended Iiridayn
Apr 17, 2013 at 4:05 vote accept Iiridayn
Apr 17, 2013 at 4:04 vote accept Iiridayn
Apr 17, 2013 at 4:05
Apr 17, 2013 at 4:04 vote accept Iiridayn
Apr 17, 2013 at 4:04
Apr 17, 2013 at 4:04 vote accept Iiridayn
Apr 17, 2013 at 4:04
Apr 15, 2013 at 15:46 vote accept Iiridayn
Apr 17, 2013 at 4:04
Apr 15, 2013 at 8:59 comment added harrymc Done. (15 chars filler)
Apr 15, 2013 at 8:58 history edited harrymc CC BY-SA 3.0
solution
Apr 15, 2013 at 6:14 comment added Iiridayn I'm going to accept this one - so please update your answer with this solution. In order to go online in Safe Mode I had to uninstall Bluecoat K9 from my computer. I've do so while troubleshooting several times, but never quite correctly (with a proper reboot without reinstalling, etc), and uninstalled it for real. Upon rebooting properly, I figured I'd just test it first... Problem went away. K9 must be introducing just enough latency only when I don't move - thank you very much for all your help. I believe that this will be a useful thing to check for the Minecraft community going forward.
Apr 14, 2013 at 15:38 comment added harrymc In Windows, an attempt to connect to a website that doesn't answer can block the entire computer for quite a few seconds. This isn't a spike, so can't be seen as such. Which is why I suggested Safe Mode with Network where no non-Microsoft product can phone home. In Wireshark this might be seen as a website slow to respond, if at all.
Apr 14, 2013 at 12:24 comment added Iiridayn When I ran Wireshark that was one thing that I was looking specifically for - large bursty internet traffic that could be interfering periodically with the connection. Windows Resource Protection didn't find any integrity violations.
Apr 14, 2013 at 6:31 comment added harrymc Pingtest gives the result for now, not for a prolonged period, so that a random communication glitch may pass unnoticed. I wonder if the problem is that some program on your computer uses the Internet extensively from time to time and creates a lag that causes Minecraft to abort. To test if some non-Microsoft product is the cause, boot into Safe Mode with Network (if the generic display is usable with Minecraft). To test Windows integrity, run sfc /scannow.
Apr 14, 2013 at 0:04 comment added Iiridayn harrymc - those are among the things that I've tried - it's a good suggestion, but I listed those things in the original question. I suspect also the lagging thing, but I got an 'A' for excellent on the Pingtest.net site (which uses Java no less, so a decent test).
Apr 13, 2013 at 21:11 comment added harrymc I suggest then to uninstall the Minecraft client, then Java, clean up all their folders, ensure that you have the latest version of each, and reinstall.
Apr 13, 2013 at 19:08 comment added Iiridayn Borrowed my roommate's computer, plugged it into my network connection, installed Minecraft - works fine. Same cable, same networking equipment - at this point clearly a software problem.
Apr 13, 2013 at 0:40 comment added Iiridayn Tried to install the Auto-Reconnect plugin, which told me to install another mod first, which threw an Invalid signature file exception. Personally not a big fan of patching jars or binaries in general - unless I'm prepared to spend a long time dinking with it. Since Minecraft is already not working correctly, I am especially uncomfortable with the thought of adding complexity to the problem.
Apr 12, 2013 at 15:26 comment added Iiridayn There is no router involved until in the ISP office. Minecraft server is in the same state as me - less than 100 miles away. I'll check out the Auto-Reconnect plugin.
Apr 10, 2013 at 7:34 history answered harrymc CC BY-SA 3.0