Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

10
  • There is no router involved until in the ISP office. Minecraft server is in the same state as me - less than 100 miles away. I'll check out the Auto-Reconnect plugin.
    – Iiridayn
    Commented Apr 12, 2013 at 15:26
  • Tried to install the Auto-Reconnect plugin, which told me to install another mod first, which threw an Invalid signature file exception. Personally not a big fan of patching jars or binaries in general - unless I'm prepared to spend a long time dinking with it. Since Minecraft is already not working correctly, I am especially uncomfortable with the thought of adding complexity to the problem.
    – Iiridayn
    Commented Apr 13, 2013 at 0:40
  • Borrowed my roommate's computer, plugged it into my network connection, installed Minecraft - works fine. Same cable, same networking equipment - at this point clearly a software problem.
    – Iiridayn
    Commented Apr 13, 2013 at 19:08
  • I suggest then to uninstall the Minecraft client, then Java, clean up all their folders, ensure that you have the latest version of each, and reinstall.
    – harrymc
    Commented Apr 13, 2013 at 21:11
  • 1
    I'm going to accept this one - so please update your answer with this solution. In order to go online in Safe Mode I had to uninstall Bluecoat K9 from my computer. I've do so while troubleshooting several times, but never quite correctly (with a proper reboot without reinstalling, etc), and uninstalled it for real. Upon rebooting properly, I figured I'd just test it first... Problem went away. K9 must be introducing just enough latency only when I don't move - thank you very much for all your help. I believe that this will be a useful thing to check for the Minecraft community going forward.
    – Iiridayn
    Commented Apr 15, 2013 at 6:14