Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Thanks. I can play the DVD without any subtitle track at all, but my problem is that if I select a .cue file to use then it always reverts to playing the subtitle track that came on the DVD
    – Ed
    Commented Oct 17, 2009 at 21:35
  • Where is this cue file located? Subtitles that are on DVD should be accessible from the subtitles menu in VLC. Also as far as I know cue files have nothing to do with subtitles. Commented Oct 17, 2009 at 23:46
  • I'm trying not to use the subtitles on the DVD, as they are such a bad translation that they are completely useless. Sorry, by .cue I meant .srt (.cue is somewhat of an equivalent for audio files)
    – Ed
    Commented Oct 18, 2009 at 0:11
  • I tried it with one of my DVDs. I started normally, selected play and when movie started playing (after all the logos and such) I dragged srt subtitles into the window and they played fine. I even got additional menu entry in Subtitles track. I added the info into my post. Commented Oct 18, 2009 at 9:16