Skip to main content
30 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 28 at 6:58 comment added Scotty If you've moving your Package Cache to a network drive or UNC path, you'll need to use mklink /D oldpath newpath instead.
Sep 27, 2023 at 11:27 history edited Glorfindel CC BY-SA 4.0
broken link fixed, cf. https://meta.stackoverflow.com/a/406565/4751173
Jun 3, 2021 at 6:10 history edited Glorfindel CC BY-SA 4.0
broken link fixed
May 28, 2018 at 7:56 comment added 0xA3 This seems now outdated. See docs.microsoft.com/en-us/visualstudio/install/…
Jun 3, 2017 at 11:02 comment added SDsolar If you have removed Visual Studio the YES you can delete this leftover directory. See my answer below.
Apr 8, 2017 at 15:38 comment added pgr Just to share a failed tip: I tried compressing the folder contents and the results are almost nothing. Not worth trying, this is already compressed.
Sep 22, 2016 at 12:48 comment added Sz. @bubbleking: Thanks for checking back with the update, much appreciated!
Sep 19, 2016 at 14:21 comment added bubbleking @Sz. - installers. After using Total Uninstaller, nothing got better. Like I said, I'll just need to install Windows fresh. This time, though, I'm older and wiser and know which bloaty packages I don't need to install from VS and SQL Server.
Sep 19, 2016 at 14:19 comment added bubbleking @Sz. - Nope. It just made the items kind of disappear from Programs and Features as though they were already uninstalled, but some of them stayed and just didn't have their icons anymore. Truth be told this was a system where several versions of SQL Server and VS had been installed and removed. Before putting on SQL Server 2016 and VS 2015 Update 3, I wanted to start with a clean slate. I thought I'd probably need to just clean install Windows, but first I tried using Total Uninstaller to remove the myriad VS/SQL packages I never used. The uninstallers weren't working, nor were the...
Sep 19, 2016 at 13:50 comment added Sz. @bubbleking: Please, please come back to us and tell if zapping the monster had resolved the deadlock!
Sep 16, 2016 at 14:42 comment added bubbleking The only reason I know of this folder's existence is because I'm trying to uninstall VS 2013 using the Programs and Features panel, and while the dark box that says "Visual Studio" comes up, no uninstaller ever arrives. So, curious what the item in the Programs and Features list was even pointing to, I looked for it on disk and found these package caches. I can't uninstall OR install VS as of now (and the version that's installed isn't launching), so I think deleting this folder is my last resort before I have to do a clean install of Windows to get going again.
Sep 6, 2016 at 21:08 comment added MikeOnline Another Microsoft blog post discusses this topic and mentions the need to maintain file/folder permissions when relocating this folder. The blog post describes using a VHD, but a subsequent comment by the author claims using a junction point is valid, too. But the ACL's need to be accounted for. See blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/heaths/2014/02/11/…
Sep 1, 2016 at 9:32 comment added Flak DiNenno @Simon I'll try to help, but, sorry which comment exactly are you referring to. thnx.
Aug 31, 2016 at 0:36 comment added Simon I'm very confused about the absolute/relative comments. if i'm moving it to another drive then surely it has to be absolute? I also don't know what 'move the link and target together' means. I just cut and paste to another drive and did mklink /J "c:\programdata\Package Cache" "s:\package cache"and it all worked fine - but can someone elaborate on the absolute/relative comment for me. thx
Aug 1, 2016 at 4:34 comment added kadrach So I have this friend cough who deleted this folder, is there a way to regenerate the PackageCache? The linked blog post does mention this, but does not go into detail..
Jul 19, 2016 at 21:15 comment added Ben Voigt As a more permanent fix, use NTFS permissions and deny "delete" permission on the junction itself.
Jul 19, 2016 at 21:15 comment added Ben Voigt Did the trick with moving to another drive and making a junction. Running VS2015 SP3 installer today, the installer caused the junction to devolve to a normal directory (possibly when uninstalling an older version of some component, it recursed through "empty" parent directories removing them -- there are known problems with junctions and naive empty directory tests). So it placed new components in C:\ProgramData\Package Cache and then failed to find items in the new location where the junction formerly pointed. Just a warning to future readers the junction may need to be re-established.
May 11, 2016 at 23:27 comment added Todd Menier Dear Microsoft: Please do not use the name "cache" to describe a folder that causes this much headache when deleted. Thanks.
Jan 6, 2016 at 16:33 comment added toddmo I'm thinking if a needed package is not in the cache, VS will download it. So I'm going to just delete it. I'll update this comment later if I run into issues.
S May 13, 2015 at 12:35 history suggested Sk8erPeter CC BY-SA 3.0
putting the quoted part in a blockquote, converting the tags to Markdown syntax
May 13, 2015 at 11:50 review Suggested edits
S May 13, 2015 at 12:35
Feb 17, 2014 at 1:12 vote accept Ben L
Feb 16, 2014 at 0:26 history edited Flak DiNenno CC BY-SA 3.0
Added details and link to definitive recommendation from Microsoft to NOT DELETE folder
Feb 2, 2014 at 15:25 history edited Flak DiNenno CC BY-SA 3.0
Added some more explanation to how/why. Addressed offline storage
Feb 2, 2014 at 15:06 comment added Flak DiNenno @BenL even though you "can't really test my original scenario but I recall that everything uninstalled fine. Since there are several people saying they have had issues, I've revoked the accepted answer." I think my answer above allows anyone in any situation to get around the issue in all cases.
S Dec 15, 2013 at 19:32 history suggested Dennis G CC BY-SA 3.0
bit of formatting
Dec 15, 2013 at 12:48 review Suggested edits
S Dec 15, 2013 at 19:32
Dec 15, 2013 at 12:47 comment added Dennis G +1 for Hardlink Shell Extension. Couldn't live without it.
Aug 15, 2013 at 16:34 comment added marek this is great solution. i need to cleanup my SSD c drive by moving files to other drive. many thanks
Jan 19, 2013 at 15:34 history answered Flak DiNenno CC BY-SA 3.0