Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/#!/StackSuper_User/status/292481458516398081
copyediting, retagging
Source Link
Indrek
  • 24.6k
  • 14
  • 91
  • 93

What Which files to select inwhen doing a Windows 7 system restore from external hard drive?

I have an ASUS computer running Windows 7 Premium Home Premium and I am attempting to test my system backup/restore. I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS) which I stored on an external hard drive.

  • I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS)
  • I stored them on an external hard drive attached directly to the computer via the USB 2.0

When I attempt to test the backup, the boot from DVD is successful, and I can locate the folder for the system images on the external drive.

  However, the Windows restore program is now asking for the name of the file (of type Setup Information). TheThe image folder contains the following

folder: Backup<date>
folder: Catalog
folder: SPPMetadatCache
file: MediaId.

three folders - Backup{date}, Catalog, SPPMetadatCache, and a file named MediaId. I've tried selecting almost all of the files, but none will work.
What

Which file(s) should I select?

What files to select in a Windows 7 system restore from external hard drive

I have an ASUS computer running Windows 7 Premium Home and I am attempting to test my system backup/restore.

  • I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS)
  • I stored them on an external hard drive attached directly to the computer via the USB 2.0

When I attempt to test the backup, the boot from DVD is successful, and I can locate the folder for the system images on the external drive.

  However, the Windows restore program is now asking for the name of the file (of type Setup Information). The image folder contains the following

folder: Backup<date>
folder: Catalog
folder: SPPMetadatCache
file: MediaId.

I've tried selecting almost all of the files, but none will work.
What file should I select?

Which files to select when doing a Windows 7 system restore from external hard drive?

I have an ASUS computer running Windows 7 Home Premium and I am attempting to test my system backup/restore. I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS) which I stored on an external hard drive.

When I attempt to test the backup, the boot from DVD is successful, and I can locate the folder for the system images on the external drive. However, the Windows restore program is now asking for the name of the file (of type Setup Information). The image folder contains three folders - Backup{date}, Catalog, SPPMetadatCache, and a file named MediaId. I've tried selecting almost all of the files, but none will work.

Which file(s) should I select?

improved formatting
Source Link
slhck
  • 230.1k
  • 71
  • 621
  • 603

windows What files to select in a Windows 7 system restore from external hard drive - what file to select

I have an ASUS computer running Windows 7 Premium Home and I am attempting to test my system backup/restore.

  • I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS)
  • I stored them on an external hard drive attached directly to the computer via the USB 2.0

When I attempt to test the backup, the boot from DVD is successful, and I can locate the folder for the system images on the external drive.

However, the Windows restore program is now asking for the name of the file (of type Setup Information). The image folder contains the following

folder: Backup
folder: Catalog
folder: SPPMetadatCache
file:   MediaId

folder: Backup<date>
folder: Catalog
folder: SPPMetadatCache
file: MediaId.

I've tried selecting almost all of the files, but none will work.
What file should I select?

windows 7 system restore from external hard drive - what file to select

I have an ASUS computer running Windows 7 Premium Home and I am attempting to test my system backup/restore.

  • I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS)
  • I stored them on an external hard drive attached directly to the computer via the USB 2.0

When I attempt to test the backup, the boot from DVD is successful, and I can locate the folder for the system images on the external drive.

However, the Windows restore program is now asking for the name of the file (of type Setup Information). The image folder contains the following

folder: Backup
folder: Catalog
folder: SPPMetadatCache
file:   MediaId

I've tried selecting almost all of the files, but none will work.
What file should I select?

What files to select in a Windows 7 system restore from external hard drive

I have an ASUS computer running Windows 7 Premium Home and I am attempting to test my system backup/restore.

  • I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS)
  • I stored them on an external hard drive attached directly to the computer via the USB 2.0

When I attempt to test the backup, the boot from DVD is successful, and I can locate the folder for the system images on the external drive.

However, the Windows restore program is now asking for the name of the file (of type Setup Information). The image folder contains the following

folder: Backup<date>
folder: Catalog
folder: SPPMetadatCache
file: MediaId.

I've tried selecting almost all of the files, but none will work.
What file should I select?

I recently purchased a newhave an ASUS computer running Windows 7 premium home editionPremium Home and I am attempting to test my system backup/restore. I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS) which I stored on an external hard drive attached directly to the computer via the USB 2.0 port. When

  • I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS)
  • I stored them on an external hard drive attached directly to the computer via the USB 2.0

When I attempt to test the backup, the boot from DVD is successful, and I can locate the folder for the system images on the external drive. However

However, the Windows restore program is now asking for the name of the file (of type Setup Information). The image folder contains three folders - Backup, Catalog, SPPMetadatCache, and a file named MediaId. I'vethe following

folder: Backup
folder: Catalog
folder: SPPMetadatCache
file:   MediaId

I've tried selecting almost all of the files, but none will work. What
What file should I select?

I recently purchased a new ASUS computer running Windows 7 premium home edition and I am attempting to test my system backup/restore. I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS) which I stored on an external hard drive attached directly to the computer via the USB 2.0 port. When I attempt to test the backup, the boot from DVD is successful, and I can locate the folder for the system images on the external drive. However, the Windows restore program is now asking for the name of the file (of type Setup Information). The image folder contains three folders - Backup, Catalog, SPPMetadatCache, and a file named MediaId. I've tried selecting almost all of the files, but none will work. What file should I select?

I have an ASUS computer running Windows 7 Premium Home and I am attempting to test my system backup/restore.

  • I created the recovery DVD and system backup images (from the tools included with the OS)
  • I stored them on an external hard drive attached directly to the computer via the USB 2.0

When I attempt to test the backup, the boot from DVD is successful, and I can locate the folder for the system images on the external drive.

However, the Windows restore program is now asking for the name of the file (of type Setup Information). The image folder contains the following

folder: Backup
folder: Catalog
folder: SPPMetadatCache
file:   MediaId

I've tried selecting almost all of the files, but none will work.
What file should I select?

Source Link
rguy
  • 61
  • 2
Loading