Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • 4
    I would suggest against anything that's more than 50MB in size, it's used for something. Try moving them to your desktop or something, running it, and if it crashes, move them back.
    – Jon
    Commented Aug 4, 2012 at 3:13
  • 1
    I can't really test my original scenario but I recall that everything uninstalled fine. Since there are several people saying they have had issues, I've revoked the accepted answer. Keep in mind that I was using 2012 RC.
    – Ben L
    Commented Nov 13, 2013 at 23:47
  • @BenL even though I understand when you say "I can't really test my original scenario but I recall that everything uninstalled fine. Since there are several people saying they have had issues, I've revoked the accepted answer." I think my answer below (the most popular one so far) allows anyone, in any case, to work around the issue by moving and pointing the folder to a drive with more space. It will even work with offline media. So, you can simply remount/insert your archive DVD/reconnect your external drive, if that's where you move this too, at the time of uninstall, repairs, etc. Commented Feb 2, 2014 at 15:09
  • 1
    @FlakDiNenno I like your workaround. But the question is about if it's safe to delete, not if it's safe to mount or offline.
    – Ben L
    Commented Feb 3, 2014 at 16:12
  • @BenL Good point. I've added some detail and a link from Microsoft that definitely recommends that you DO NOT delete the folder and why. Commented Feb 16, 2014 at 0:28