Skip to main content
deleted 67 characters in body; edited tags
Source Link
slhck
  • 230.2k
  • 71
  • 621
  • 603

Help!! My office keyboard (P/S 2) driver is missing in device manager (yellow exclamation mark) and cannot be updated for some weird reasons I know nothing about. Then my mouse stopped working as well (tried using P/S 2 and USB). I suspect a registry error. 

Another problem is that I couldn't boot to windows xpWindows XP now as I'm stuck on the windows genuine advantageWindows Genuine Advantage box. ( — my former colleague did all the installation, so I'm not sure if it's Genuine or not as there were no stickers or cd anywhere in the office! Sucks huh? Cannot choose from two options (Get genuineGet Genuine or resolve laterResolve later) as both keyboard and mouse do not function. Now

Now, my friend recommended installing Ubuntu after booting first from a CD/ DVDDVD drive. My questions are: Can I fix the windows registry in ubuntu? Is there a way to fix my keyboard and mouse within ubuntu so I can copy all important data from Windows first before reinstalling a genuine windows os? Your advice is highly needed and appreciated. Thanks in advance!

  • Can I fix the Windows registry in Ubuntu?

  • Is there a way to fix my keyboard and mouse within Ubuntu so I can copy all important data from Windows first before reinstalling a genuine Windows?

Help!! My office keyboard (P/S 2) driver is missing in device manager (yellow exclamation mark) and cannot be updated for some weird reasons I know nothing about. Then my mouse stopped working as well (tried using P/S 2 and USB). I suspect a registry error. Another problem is that I couldn't boot to windows xp now as I'm stuck on the windows genuine advantage box. (my former colleague did all the installation, so I'm not sure if it's Genuine or not as there were no stickers or cd anywhere in the office! Sucks huh? Cannot choose from two options (Get genuine or resolve later) as both keyboard and mouse do not function. Now, my friend recommended installing Ubuntu after booting first from a CD/ DVD drive. My questions are: Can I fix the windows registry in ubuntu? Is there a way to fix my keyboard and mouse within ubuntu so I can copy all important data from Windows first before reinstalling a genuine windows os? Your advice is highly needed and appreciated. Thanks in advance!

My office keyboard (P/S 2) driver is missing in device manager (yellow exclamation mark) and cannot be updated for some weird reasons I know nothing about. Then my mouse stopped working as well (tried using P/S 2 and USB). I suspect a registry error. 

Another problem is that I couldn't boot to Windows XP now as I'm stuck on the Windows Genuine Advantage box — my former colleague did all the installation, so I'm not sure if it's Genuine or not as there were no stickers or cd anywhere in the office! Cannot choose from two options (Get Genuine or Resolve later) as both keyboard and mouse do not function.

Now, my friend recommended installing Ubuntu after booting first from a CD/DVD drive. My questions are:

  • Can I fix the Windows registry in Ubuntu?

  • Is there a way to fix my keyboard and mouse within Ubuntu so I can copy all important data from Windows first before reinstalling a genuine Windows?

Source Link

Keyboard and mouse do not work, stuck at Windows Genuine Advantage page

Help!! My office keyboard (P/S 2) driver is missing in device manager (yellow exclamation mark) and cannot be updated for some weird reasons I know nothing about. Then my mouse stopped working as well (tried using P/S 2 and USB). I suspect a registry error. Another problem is that I couldn't boot to windows xp now as I'm stuck on the windows genuine advantage box. (my former colleague did all the installation, so I'm not sure if it's Genuine or not as there were no stickers or cd anywhere in the office! Sucks huh? Cannot choose from two options (Get genuine or resolve later) as both keyboard and mouse do not function. Now, my friend recommended installing Ubuntu after booting first from a CD/ DVD drive. My questions are: Can I fix the windows registry in ubuntu? Is there a way to fix my keyboard and mouse within ubuntu so I can copy all important data from Windows first before reinstalling a genuine windows os? Your advice is highly needed and appreciated. Thanks in advance!