Skip to main content
added 46 characters in body
Source Link
Stephen R
  • 208
  • 2
  • 8
  • 17

It's my understanding that all levels of cache are implemented directly on the chip and that L2 and L3 are one in the same (that only Intel recognizes the difference, AMD combines them.). With this in mind I would imagine that the L3 cache on CPUs are not shared between the CPUs on a dual socketed motherboard. This also makes sense keeping in mind that it is typical to see separate memory channels to RAM per CPU.

Someone correct me if I am wrong.

It's my understanding that all levels of cache are implemented directly on the chip and that L2 and L3 are one in the same (that only Intel . With this in mind I would imagine that the L3 cache on CPUs are not shared between the CPUs on a dual socketed motherboard. This also makes sense keeping in mind that it is typical to see separate memory channels to RAM per CPU.

Someone correct me if I am wrong.

It's my understanding that all levels of cache are implemented directly on the chip and that L2 and L3 are one in the same (that only Intel recognizes the difference, AMD combines them.). With this in mind I would imagine that the L3 cache on CPUs are not shared between the CPUs on a dual socketed motherboard. This also makes sense keeping in mind that it is typical to see separate memory channels to RAM per CPU.

Someone correct me if I am wrong.

Source Link
Stephen R
  • 208
  • 2
  • 8
  • 17

It's my understanding that all levels of cache are implemented directly on the chip and that L2 and L3 are one in the same (that only Intel . With this in mind I would imagine that the L3 cache on CPUs are not shared between the CPUs on a dual socketed motherboard. This also makes sense keeping in mind that it is typical to see separate memory channels to RAM per CPU.

Someone correct me if I am wrong.