Skip to main content
13 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Mar 27, 2012 at 15:05 history migrated from serverfault.com (revisions)
Mar 27, 2012 at 15:03 comment added gparent There, I removed it so it doesn't bother you anymore. At least I hope.
Mar 27, 2012 at 15:01 comment added gparent It wasn't really the downvote, but the way it occured. The question first, then as soon as I answered, my answer too (which you later undid because there was no backing, but for a while it was suspicious), and lack of any trace left in comments. Obviously now the context is different.
Mar 27, 2012 at 15:00 comment added EEAA Fair enough. If you want to assume that all downvotes without context are trolling, fair enough. I'm just saying that not all of them are trolling.
Mar 27, 2012 at 14:59 comment added gparent I'm explaining you why I thought the downvotes were trolling, not claiming that Stack Exchange is bugged.
Mar 27, 2012 at 14:58 comment added EEAA As has been discussed in meta extensively, there's a reason the software doesn't require reasons to be submitted with down votes. If someone truly is trolling (or in other types of vote fraud), there are algorithms to pick that up and deal appropriately with the user.
Mar 27, 2012 at 14:56 comment added gparent Hey, I went with the info I had, a downvote with no information (;
Mar 27, 2012 at 14:55 comment added EEAA Oh, and I'm not a troll, thankyouverymuch. As you can see, I have legit reasons for downvoting (even though a valid reason isn't required).
Mar 27, 2012 at 14:44 comment added gparent Oh, my bad. I understand now :)
Mar 27, 2012 at 14:43 comment added EEAA Sorry, your last paragraph was not clear that you were talking about the minecraft clients as opposed to your VPN clients. Downvote removed.
Mar 27, 2012 at 14:41 comment added gparent Because they are connected by VPN. Have you ever used VPN before? Obviously the encrypted traffic will go to the public internet, but you wouldn't point your Minecraft client to the WAN IP, you'd point it to the local IP (whether it's the VPN endpoint itself or another local address)
Mar 27, 2012 at 14:38 comment added EEAA How do you suppose "your clients" will be able to route packets to "the VPN address" (which would be an RFC1918 address)? They wouldn't. The only globally-routable address in this situation is the public internet IP that gets assigned to the router's WAN port by the OP's ISP.
Mar 27, 2012 at 14:29 history answered gparent CC BY-SA 3.0