Skip to main content
deleted 865 characters in body
Source Link
Trevor Boyd Smith
  • 2.8k
  • 11
  • 46
  • 61

In a nutshell, i have a VM that ran out of space. I increased the size of the VM's harddrive to be 4 times bigger but the OS partition is still only using 1x the space. I need to change the LVM partition to take up the extra 4x space but I don't know how to extend the LVM partition.

(NOTE: I triedTo make the "golden bullet" that is "gparted" GUI partitionscreenshots given below I had to boot from a live-cd toolfor gnome-partition-manager (aka gparted). Very unfortunately gparted is only able to "detect LVM" and can't do any LVM operations.)

Here is what "gparted" shows. Please notice that the "resize" option is not available:

enter image description here


The Problem:

I can't find good directions<1> on how to grow the LVM partition via GUI or command-line! How do you grow a LVM partition that was created by the default Fedora install?

If you are giving command line directions. Please explain what each line of commands does.


(

Bonus questions:

<1> I have found some directions... but usually the directions are incomplete or give many commands to execute without ANY explanation!! I can't really execute a command if I don't know what it will do.

<2> Most guides say you need to have the LVM partition unmounted. To unmount should I: boot into fedora and do a unmount OR boot into a live CD and operate there?

<2.1> what live-cd has the necessary LVM tools to let me resize the LVM?

<3> Some guides says use "resize2fs" but also says that doing so "is rather dangerous". Is resize2fs still "dangerous"?

<4> There is talk about "extend the logical parititon... then the ext2 partition... why is there two extensions?

<5> gparted shows only shows "LVM" partition. how do you find out what is inside the LVM partition (ext2, or something like that)?

)

In a nutshell, i have a VM that ran out of space. I increased the size of the VM's harddrive to be 4 times bigger but the OS partition is still only using 1x the space. I need to change the LVM partition to take up the extra 4x space but I don't know how to extend the LVM partition.

(NOTE: I tried the "golden bullet" that is "gparted" GUI partition live-cd tool. Very unfortunately gparted is only able to "detect LVM" and can't do any LVM operations.)

Here is what "gparted" shows. Please notice that the "resize" option is not available:

enter image description here


The Problem:

I can't find good directions<1> on how to grow the LVM partition via GUI or command-line! How do you grow a LVM partition that was created by the default Fedora install?

If you are giving command line directions. Please explain what each line of commands does.


(

Bonus questions:

<1> I have found some directions... but usually the directions are incomplete or give many commands to execute without ANY explanation!! I can't really execute a command if I don't know what it will do.

<2> Most guides say you need to have the LVM partition unmounted. To unmount should I: boot into fedora and do a unmount OR boot into a live CD and operate there?

<2.1> what live-cd has the necessary LVM tools to let me resize the LVM?

<3> Some guides says use "resize2fs" but also says that doing so "is rather dangerous". Is resize2fs still "dangerous"?

<4> There is talk about "extend the logical parititon... then the ext2 partition... why is there two extensions?

<5> gparted shows only shows "LVM" partition. how do you find out what is inside the LVM partition (ext2, or something like that)?

)

In a nutshell, i have a VM that ran out of space. I increased the size of the VM's harddrive to be 4 times bigger but the OS partition is still only using 1x the space. I need to change the LVM partition to take up the extra 4x space but I don't know how to extend the LVM partition.

(NOTE: To make the screenshots given below I had to boot from a live-cd for gnome-partition-manager (aka gparted). Very unfortunately gparted is only able to "detect LVM" and can't do any LVM operations.)

Here is what "gparted" shows. Please notice that the "resize" option is not available:

enter image description here


The Problem:

I can't find good directions<1> on how to grow the LVM partition via GUI or command-line! How do you grow a LVM partition that was created by the default Fedora install?

If you are giving command line directions. Please explain what each line of commands does.

deleted 337 characters in body
Source Link
Trevor Boyd Smith
  • 2.8k
  • 11
  • 46
  • 61

Linux Fedora VM, need to How do you add extramore space to my VM's harddrive. I am stuck on how do to "extend LVM"a Fedora (LVM) partition?

In a nutshell, i have a VM that ran out of space. I increased the size of the VM's harddrive to be 4 times bigger but the OS partition is still only using 1x the space. I need to change the LVM partition to take up the extra 4x space but I don't know how to extend the LVM partition.

(NOTE: I tried the "golden bullet" that is "gparted" GUI partition live-cd tool. Very unfortunately gparted is only able to "detect LVM" and can't do any LVM operations.)

Here is what "gparted" shows. Please notice that the "resize" option is not available:

enter image description here


The Problem:

I can't find good directions<1> on how to grow the LVM partition via GUI or command line-line! How do you grow a LVM partition that was created by the default Fedora install?

If you are giving command line directions. Please explain what each line of commands does.


(

Bonus questions:

<1> I have found some directions... but usually the directions are incomplete or give many commands to execute without ANY explanation!! I can't really execute a command if I don't know what it will do.

<2> Most guides say you need to have the LVM partition unmounted. To unmount should I: boot into fedora and do a unmount OR boot into a live CD and operate there?

<2.1> what live-cd has the necessary LVM tools to let me resize the LVM?

<3> Some guides says use "resize2fs" but also says that doing so "is rather dangerous". Is resize2fs still "dangerous"?

<4> There is talk about "extend the logical parititon... then the ext2 partition... why is there two extensions?

<5> gparted shows only shows "LVM" partition. how do you find out what is inside the LVM partition (ext2, or something like that)?

)

Linux Fedora VM, need to add extra space to my VM's harddrive. I am stuck on how do to "extend LVM"?

In a nutshell, i have a VM that ran out of space. I increased the size of the VM's harddrive to be 4 times bigger but the OS partition is still only using 1x the space. I need to change the LVM partition to take up the extra 4x space but I don't know how to extend the LVM partition.

(NOTE: I tried the "golden bullet" that is "gparted" GUI partition live-cd tool. Very unfortunately gparted is only able to "detect LVM" and can't do any LVM operations.)

Here is what "gparted" shows. Please notice that the "resize" option is not available:

enter image description here


The Problem:

I can't find good directions<1> on how to grow the LVM partition via command line! How do you grow a LVM partition that was created by the default Fedora install?

If you are giving command line directions. Please explain what each line of commands does.


(

Bonus questions:

<1> I have found some directions... but usually the directions are incomplete or give many commands to execute without ANY explanation!! I can't really execute a command if I don't know what it will do.

<2> Most guides say you need to have the LVM partition unmounted. To unmount should I: boot into fedora and do a unmount OR boot into a live CD and operate there?

<2.1> what live-cd has the necessary LVM tools to let me resize the LVM?

<3> Some guides says use "resize2fs" but also says that doing so "is rather dangerous". Is resize2fs still "dangerous"?

<4> There is talk about "extend the logical parititon... then the ext2 partition... why is there two extensions?

<5> gparted shows only shows "LVM" partition. how do you find out what is inside the LVM partition (ext2, or something like that)?

)

How do you add more space to a Fedora (LVM) partition?

In a nutshell, i have a VM that ran out of space. I increased the size of the VM's harddrive to be 4 times bigger but the OS partition is still only using 1x the space. I need to change the LVM partition to take up the extra 4x space but I don't know how to extend the LVM partition.

(NOTE: I tried the "golden bullet" that is "gparted" GUI partition live-cd tool. Very unfortunately gparted is only able to "detect LVM" and can't do any LVM operations.)

Here is what "gparted" shows. Please notice that the "resize" option is not available:

enter image description here


The Problem:

I can't find good directions<1> on how to grow the LVM partition via GUI or command-line! How do you grow a LVM partition that was created by the default Fedora install?

If you are giving command line directions. Please explain what each line of commands does.


(

Bonus questions:

<1> I have found some directions... but usually the directions are incomplete or give many commands to execute without ANY explanation!! I can't really execute a command if I don't know what it will do.

<2> Most guides say you need to have the LVM partition unmounted. To unmount should I: boot into fedora and do a unmount OR boot into a live CD and operate there?

<2.1> what live-cd has the necessary LVM tools to let me resize the LVM?

<3> Some guides says use "resize2fs" but also says that doing so "is rather dangerous". Is resize2fs still "dangerous"?

<4> There is talk about "extend the logical parititon... then the ext2 partition... why is there two extensions?

<5> gparted shows only shows "LVM" partition. how do you find out what is inside the LVM partition (ext2, or something like that)?

)

deleted 337 characters in body
Source Link
Trevor Boyd Smith
  • 2.8k
  • 11
  • 46
  • 61

Background:

So IIn a nutshell, i have a Fedora VM. The default that ran out of space was small... so I filled it up. I found online that it is easy to increaseincreased the size of the VM's harddrive.

In VirtualBox you can easily make your VM's harddrive to be 4 times bigger:

  • make a backup of your *.vdi (the extension used for a VirtualBox VM harddrive)
  • use virtualbox's resize command to resize the *.vdi
    • Here is the command: VBoxManage modifyhd VM_HARDDRIVE_IMAGE.vdi --resize 60000
    • This will resize the image to 60000 MB

Then the majority of but the online guides all say "Your OS'OS partition will is still setup up foronly using 1x the old sizespace. YouI need to change the LVM partition to take up the extra 4x space but I don't know how to extend the LVM partition of your OS."

(NOTE: I got a live CD fortried the "golden bullet" that is "gparted" (Gnome's Partition Editor) and booted..GUI partition live-cd tool. found out gparted doesn't support GROWING an LVM partition...Very unfortunately gparted is only able to DETECT"detect LVM" and can't do any LVM partitionoperations. Arg)

Here is what "gparted" shows. Please notice that the "resize" option is not available:

enter image description here


Problem DescriptionThe Problem:

So now I am stuck I can't a parition GUI to deal with LVM and I can't find good directions<1 see bonus question> on how to grow the LVM partition via command line! HowI can't find good directions<1> on how to grow the LVM partition via command line! How do you grow a LVM partition that was created by the default Fedora install?

If you are giving command line directions. Please explain what each line of commands does.

 

(

Bonus questions:

Bonus questions:

<1> I have found some directions... but usually the directions are incomplete or give many commands to execute without ANY explanation!! I can't really execute a command if I don't know what it will do.

<2> Most guides say you need to have the LVM partition unmounted. To unmount should I: boot into fedora and do a unmount OR boot into a live CD and operate there?

<2.1> what live-cd has the necessary LVM tools to let me resize the LVM?

<3> Some guides says use "resize2fs" but also says that doing so "is rather dangerous". Is resize2fs still "dangerous"?

<4> There is talk about "extend the logical parititon... then the ext2 partition... why is there two extensions?

<5> gparted shows only shows "LVM" partition. how do you find out what is inside the LVM partition (ext2, or something like that)?

)

Background:

So I have a Fedora VM. The default space was small... so I filled it up. I found online that it is easy to increase the size of the VM's harddrive.

In VirtualBox you can easily make your VM's harddrive bigger:

  • make a backup of your *.vdi (the extension used for a VirtualBox VM harddrive)
  • use virtualbox's resize command to resize the *.vdi
    • Here is the command: VBoxManage modifyhd VM_HARDDRIVE_IMAGE.vdi --resize 60000
    • This will resize the image to 60000 MB

Then the majority of the online guides all say "Your OS' partition will is still setup up for the old size. You need to extend the partition of your OS." I got a live CD for "gparted" (Gnome's Partition Editor) and booted... found out gparted doesn't support GROWING an LVM partition... gparted is only able to DETECT LVM partition. Arg.

Problem Description:

So now I am stuck I can't a parition GUI to deal with LVM and I can't find good directions<1 see bonus question> on how to grow the LVM partition via command line! How do you grow a LVM partition that was created by the default Fedora install?

If you are giving command line directions. Please explain what each line of commands does.

(

Bonus questions:

<1> I have found some directions... but usually the directions are incomplete or give many commands to execute without ANY explanation!! I can't really execute a command if I don't know what it will do.

<2> Most guides say you need to have the LVM partition unmounted. To unmount should I: boot into fedora and do a unmount OR boot into a live CD and operate there?

<2.1> what live-cd has the necessary LVM tools to let me resize the LVM?

<3> Some guides says use "resize2fs" but also says that doing so "is rather dangerous". Is resize2fs still "dangerous"?

<4> There is talk about "extend the logical parititon... then the ext2 partition... why is there two extensions?

<5> gparted shows only shows "LVM" partition. how do you find out what is inside the LVM partition (ext2, or something like that)?

)

In a nutshell, i have a VM that ran out of space. I increased the size of the VM's harddrive to be 4 times bigger but the OS partition is still only using 1x the space. I need to change the LVM partition to take up the extra 4x space but I don't know how to extend the LVM partition.

(NOTE: I tried the "golden bullet" that is "gparted" GUI partition live-cd tool. Very unfortunately gparted is only able to "detect LVM" and can't do any LVM operations.)

Here is what "gparted" shows. Please notice that the "resize" option is not available:

enter image description here


The Problem:

I can't find good directions<1> on how to grow the LVM partition via command line! How do you grow a LVM partition that was created by the default Fedora install?

If you are giving command line directions. Please explain what each line of commands does.

 

(

Bonus questions:

<1> I have found some directions... but usually the directions are incomplete or give many commands to execute without ANY explanation!! I can't really execute a command if I don't know what it will do.

<2> Most guides say you need to have the LVM partition unmounted. To unmount should I: boot into fedora and do a unmount OR boot into a live CD and operate there?

<2.1> what live-cd has the necessary LVM tools to let me resize the LVM?

<3> Some guides says use "resize2fs" but also says that doing so "is rather dangerous". Is resize2fs still "dangerous"?

<4> There is talk about "extend the logical parititon... then the ext2 partition... why is there two extensions?

<5> gparted shows only shows "LVM" partition. how do you find out what is inside the LVM partition (ext2, or something like that)?

)

added 215 characters in body
Source Link
Trevor Boyd Smith
  • 2.8k
  • 11
  • 46
  • 61
Loading
Source Link
Trevor Boyd Smith
  • 2.8k
  • 11
  • 46
  • 61
Loading