Skip to main content

I had the same problem. All i did was to remove the dash ("-") from the command.

Instead of typing it as "

tar -cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

try typing it as tar

tar cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

iI am unaware of why the dash was causing problems in my case but at least it worked.

I had the same problem. All i did was to remove the dash ("-") from the command.

Instead of typing it as "

tar -cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

try typing it as tar

cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

i am unaware of why the dash was causing problems in my case but at least it worked.

I had the same problem. All i did was to remove the dash ("-") from the command.

Instead of typing it as

tar -cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

try typing it as

tar cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

I am unaware of why the dash was causing problems in my case but at least it worked.

deleted 21 characters in body
Source Link
Simon Sheehan
  • 9.2k
  • 12
  • 53
  • 71

I had the same problem. allAll i did was to remove the dash ("-") from the command.

so insteadInstead of typing it as "tar -cvfz output.tar.gz folder/""

tar -cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

try typing it as "tar cvfz output.tar.gz folder/".tar

cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

i am unaware of why the dash was causing problems in my case but at least it worked.

i hope this helps somebody.

had the same problem. all i did was to remove the dash ("-") from the command.

so instead of typing it as "tar -cvfz output.tar.gz folder/" try typing it as "tar cvfz output.tar.gz folder/".

i am unaware of why the dash was causing problems in my case but at least it worked.

i hope this helps somebody.

I had the same problem. All i did was to remove the dash ("-") from the command.

Instead of typing it as "

tar -cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

try typing it as tar

cvfz output.tar.gz folder/

i am unaware of why the dash was causing problems in my case but at least it worked.

Source Link
jack
  • 49
  • 1

had the same problem. all i did was to remove the dash ("-") from the command.

so instead of typing it as "tar -cvfz output.tar.gz folder/" try typing it as "tar cvfz output.tar.gz folder/".

i am unaware of why the dash was causing problems in my case but at least it worked.

i hope this helps somebody.