Skip to main content
deleted 65 characters in body
Source Link
soandos
  • 24.5k
  • 28
  • 104
  • 134

I am an IE9 user and got tired of YouTube forcing me to wait 15 seconds to watch an ad before I could watch the video that I wanted.

So I installed ABP for Firefox and the ads went away! However, if I actually log in to YouTube with FF, ABP fails to block the ads. I am assuming it's something cookie-related because I can fix it by clearing all cookies again which results in me no longer being logged in.

Right now I am using IE9 for regular viewing, but switch over to FF if I come upon a video that tries to force me to sit through a 15-second ad (I don't want to do that). The problem is that some vids are flagged as inappropriate for some viewers and requires me to log in. Of course, when I do this, I have to watch the ad. I don't want to watch them, though.

I'd like to get this to work with FF so I can use FF as my primary YouTube browser (in b4 "why not just make FF you regular everything browser?"). Has anyone else experienced this issue?

I am an IE9 user and got tired of YouTube forcing me to wait 15 seconds to watch an ad before I could watch the video that I wanted.

So I installed ABP for Firefox and the ads went away! However, if I actually log in to YouTube with FF, ABP fails to block the ads. I am assuming it's something cookie-related because I can fix it by clearing all cookies again which results in me no longer being logged in.

Right now I am using IE9 for regular viewing, but switch over to FF if I come upon a video that tries to force me to sit through a 15-second ad (I don't want to do that). The problem is that some vids are flagged as inappropriate for some viewers and requires me to log in. Of course, when I do this, I have to watch the ad. I don't want to watch them, though.

I'd like to get this to work with FF so I can use FF as my primary YouTube browser (in b4 "why not just make FF you regular everything browser?"). Has anyone else experienced this issue?

I am an IE9 user and got tired of YouTube forcing me to wait 15 seconds to watch an ad before I could watch the video that I wanted.

So I installed ABP for Firefox and the ads went away! However, if I actually log in to YouTube with FF, ABP fails to block the ads. I am assuming it's something cookie-related because I can fix it by clearing all cookies again which results in me no longer being logged in.

Right now I am using IE9 for regular viewing, but switch over to FF if I come upon a video that tries to force me to sit through a 15-second ad (I don't want to do that). The problem is that some vids are flagged as inappropriate for some viewers and requires me to log in. Of course, when I do this, I have to watch the ad. I don't want to watch them, though.

I'd like to get this to work with FF so I can use FF as my primary YouTube browser. Has anyone else experienced this issue?

Source Link
oscilatingcretin
  • 5.3k
  • 26
  • 86
  • 119

Quirk with blocking video ads in YouTube with Firefox and AdBlock Plus

I am an IE9 user and got tired of YouTube forcing me to wait 15 seconds to watch an ad before I could watch the video that I wanted.

So I installed ABP for Firefox and the ads went away! However, if I actually log in to YouTube with FF, ABP fails to block the ads. I am assuming it's something cookie-related because I can fix it by clearing all cookies again which results in me no longer being logged in.

Right now I am using IE9 for regular viewing, but switch over to FF if I come upon a video that tries to force me to sit through a 15-second ad (I don't want to do that). The problem is that some vids are flagged as inappropriate for some viewers and requires me to log in. Of course, when I do this, I have to watch the ad. I don't want to watch them, though.

I'd like to get this to work with FF so I can use FF as my primary YouTube browser (in b4 "why not just make FF you regular everything browser?"). Has anyone else experienced this issue?