Skip to main content
replaced http://superuser.com/ with https://superuser.com/
Source Link

Possible Duplicate:
Why do I get files like ._foo in my tarball on OS X?Why do I get files like ._foo in my tarball on OS X?

I create autoconf scripts on a Mac. When tar runs, it puts all of these ._foobar names in the archive:

libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpr
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpr

Now what's going on is the Apple's HFS filesystem is putting the file properties in the ._foobar names so that they can be restored on another Mac system. But I don't want them --- they are just junk for me. Is there any way to suppress them?

Possible Duplicate:
Why do I get files like ._foo in my tarball on OS X?

I create autoconf scripts on a Mac. When tar runs, it puts all of these ._foobar names in the archive:

libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpr
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpr

Now what's going on is the Apple's HFS filesystem is putting the file properties in the ._foobar names so that they can be restored on another Mac system. But I don't want them --- they are just junk for me. Is there any way to suppress them?

Possible Duplicate:
Why do I get files like ._foo in my tarball on OS X?

I create autoconf scripts on a Mac. When tar runs, it puts all of these ._foobar names in the archive:

libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpr
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpr

Now what's going on is the Apple's HFS filesystem is putting the file properties in the ._foobar names so that they can be restored on another Mac system. But I don't want them --- they are just junk for me. Is there any way to suppress them?

insert duplicate link
Source Link

Possible Duplicate:
Why do I get files like ._foo in my tarball on OS X?

I create autoconf scripts on a Mac. When tar runs, it puts all of these ._foobar names in the archive:

libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpr
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpr

Now what's going on is the Apple's HFS filesystem is putting the file properties in the ._foobar names so that they can be restored on another Mac system. But I don't want them --- they are just junk for me. Is there any way to suppress them?

I create autoconf scripts on a Mac. When tar runs, it puts all of these ._foobar names in the archive:

libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpr
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpr

Now what's going on is the Apple's HFS filesystem is putting the file properties in the ._foobar names so that they can be restored on another Mac system. But I don't want them --- they are just junk for me. Is there any way to suppress them?

Possible Duplicate:
Why do I get files like ._foo in my tarball on OS X?

I create autoconf scripts on a Mac. When tar runs, it puts all of these ._foobar names in the archive:

libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpf
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/._ewfacquire.bpr
libewf-20110312/borlandc/builder5/ewfacquire/ewfacquire.bpr

Now what's going on is the Apple's HFS filesystem is putting the file properties in the ._foobar names so that they can be restored on another Mac system. But I don't want them --- they are just junk for me. Is there any way to suppress them?

Post Closed as "exact duplicate" by Chris Johnsen, Sathyajith Bhat
edited tags
Link
Daniel Beck
  • 110.8k
  • 16
  • 290
  • 337
Source Link
vy32
  • 3.4k
  • 11
  • 44
  • 47
Loading