Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 61 characters in body
Source Link
wcoenen
  • 2.3k
  • 3
  • 24
  • 32

I put my email address in the clear on the web everywhere, and contrary to popular belief this doesn't seem to have any effect on the amount of spam that I receive. It's been stable at an average of 3 per day for a long time. So I'd say that obfuscation is useless.

I do notice that very short usernames (e.g. [email protected]) result in more spam. Apparently the email addresses used by spammers are simply generated by trying all possible short letter combinations, and by using name lists.

I put my email address in the clear on the web everywhere, and contrary to popular belief this doesn't seem to have any effect on the amount of spam that I receive. So I'd say that obfuscation is useless.

I do notice that very short usernames (e.g. [email protected]) result in more spam. Apparently the email addresses used by spammers are simply generated by trying all possible short letter combinations, and by using name lists.

I put my email address in the clear on the web everywhere, and contrary to popular belief this doesn't seem to have any effect on the amount of spam that I receive. It's been stable at an average of 3 per day for a long time. So I'd say that obfuscation is useless.

I do notice that very short usernames (e.g. [email protected]) result in more spam. Apparently the email addresses used by spammers are simply generated by trying all possible short letter combinations, and by using name lists.

Source Link
wcoenen
  • 2.3k
  • 3
  • 24
  • 32

I put my email address in the clear on the web everywhere, and contrary to popular belief this doesn't seem to have any effect on the amount of spam that I receive. So I'd say that obfuscation is useless.

I do notice that very short usernames (e.g. [email protected]) result in more spam. Apparently the email addresses used by spammers are simply generated by trying all possible short letter combinations, and by using name lists.