Skip to main content
fixed formatting
Source Link
Gareth
  • 18.9k
  • 15
  • 58
  • 69

Just for the learning experience, I have recompiled the Linux kernel with different options, installed and booted from it. It was both instructive and straight forwardstraightforward. However, I was overwhelmed by the large number of options available.

My questions are: 1.- Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the Linux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement? 2.- Is there any tool that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?

  1. Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the Linux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement?
  2. Are there any tools that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?

Just for the learning experience, I have recompiled the Linux kernel with different options, installed and booted from it. It was both instructive and straight forward. However, I was overwhelmed by the large number of options available.

My questions are: 1.- Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the Linux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement? 2.- Is there any tool that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?

Just for the learning experience, I have recompiled the Linux kernel with different options, installed and booted from it. It was both instructive and straightforward. However, I was overwhelmed by the large number of options available.

My questions are:

  1. Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the Linux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement?
  2. Are there any tools that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?
added 15 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
soandos
  • 24.5k
  • 28
  • 104
  • 134

compiling Compiling the Linux kernel

Just for the learning experience, I have recompiled the Linux kernel with different options, installed and bootbooted from it. It was both instructive and straight forward. However, I was overwhelmed by the biglarge number of options available.

My questions are: 1.- Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the Linux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement? 2.- Is there any tool that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?

compiling the Linux kernel

Just for learning, I have recompiled the Linux kernel with different options, installed and boot from it. It was both instructive and straight forward. However, I was overwhelmed by the big number of options available.

My questions are: 1.- Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the Linux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement? 2.- Is there any tool that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?

Compiling the Linux kernel

Just for the learning experience, I have recompiled the Linux kernel with different options, installed and booted from it. It was both instructive and straight forward. However, I was overwhelmed by the large number of options available.

My questions are: 1.- Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the Linux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement? 2.- Is there any tool that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?

deleted 12 characters in body; edited tags; edited title
Source Link
studiohack
  • 13.4k
  • 19
  • 88
  • 118

compiling the linuxLinux kernel

Just for learning, I have recompiled the linuxLinux kernel with different options, installed and boot from it. It was both instructive and straight forward. However, I was overwhelmed by the big number of options available.

My questions are: 1.- Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the linuxLinux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement? 2.- Is there any tool that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?

Thanks,

H

compiling the linux kernel

Just for learning, I have recompiled the linux kernel with different options, installed and boot from it. It was both instructive and straight forward. However, I was overwhelmed by the big number of options available.

My questions are: 1.- Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the linux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement? 2.- Is there any tool that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?

Thanks,

H

compiling the Linux kernel

Just for learning, I have recompiled the Linux kernel with different options, installed and boot from it. It was both instructive and straight forward. However, I was overwhelmed by the big number of options available.

My questions are: 1.- Does it make sense to spend time trying to optimize the Linux kernel for my particular laptop? Will it make a significant improvement? 2.- Is there any tool that can read the configuration of my computer and suggest a config?

Post Migrated Here from stackoverflow.com (revisions)
Source Link
user482819
user482819
Loading