Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Worth a shot, but doesn't seem to help. It asks for the name and ip address of the printer, then sits there trying to recognize the port, and ends up at the dialog that asks me to pick the right port type. I don't think I need the cd either, but I'm pretty sure there was some instructions in the package on how to set up the network part. Commented Aug 9, 2009 at 20:06
  • Surely the manuals are easy to find: usa.canon.com/consumer/…
    – Arjan
    Commented Aug 9, 2009 at 20:28
  • Yeah, and they mention something like a "BJ Network Tool", which unfortunately isn't part of the downloadable files, at least that I can see. Commented Aug 10, 2009 at 10:06
  • I have never understood what's in the drivers, and what's in the setup program. Running the setup program on a Mac, using that Network Tool was part of the setup sequence, so it may have been installed on the fly. In daily usage I can also open it from the printer queue, or run it as a standalone program (on a Mac, in /Library/Printers/Canon/BJPrinter/Utilities/). But it seems those utilities are also present on a Mac on which I never installed the printer, which may indicate it has come with the drivers...
    – Arjan
    Commented Aug 10, 2009 at 10:29
  • 1
    Canon recently released a new version of their IJ Network Tool (v. 4.4.1). Using this I was able to setup the network interfaces of my old ip4000r on OS X 10.9.5 without much problem. Link to EU support site: canon-europe.com/Support/Consumer_Products/products/printers/…
    – Jens Wegar
    Commented Oct 19, 2014 at 17:39