Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Post Reopened by d0g, Joep van Steen, End Antisemitic Hate, music2myear, MC10
Updated to not be recommendation-seeking
Added to review
Source Link
d0g
  • 2.3k
  • 4
  • 36
  • 43

Looking for remote desktop / Unable to get shared clipboard using VNC connection fromserver on Ubuntu and Mac client to Linux server with clipboard support

I have a remote Oracle Cloud VM running Ubuntu, and I want to remote in via VNC via macos Screen Sharing.

  I have it workingcan connect with Xvnc version TightVNC-1.3.10 but– but for the life of me cannot get shared clipboard to work.

Is there an alternative server/client setup that will work out of the box with a Mac client?

This is my xstartup

#!/bin/bash
xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
export DISPLAY=:1
eval $(dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session)
export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
autocutsel -selection PRIMARY -fork &
vncconfig -nowin &
mate-session &
gnome-terminal &
chromium-browser &

Looking for remote desktop / VNC connection from Mac client to Linux server with clipboard support

I have a remote Oracle Cloud VM running Ubuntu, and I want to remote in via VNC via macos Screen Sharing.

  I have it working with Xvnc version TightVNC-1.3.10 but for the life of me cannot get shared clipboard to work.

Is there an alternative server/client setup that will work out of the box with a Mac client?

This is my xstartup

#!/bin/bash
xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
export DISPLAY=:1
eval $(dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session)
export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
autocutsel -selection PRIMARY -fork &
vncconfig -nowin &
mate-session &
gnome-terminal &
chromium-browser &

Unable to get shared clipboard using VNC server on Ubuntu and Mac client

I have a remote Oracle Cloud VM running Ubuntu, and I want to remote in via VNC via macos Screen Sharing. I can connect with Xvnc version TightVNC-1.3.10 – but for the life of me cannot get shared clipboard to work.

This is my xstartup

#!/bin/bash
xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
export DISPLAY=:1
eval $(dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session)
export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
autocutsel -selection PRIMARY -fork &
vncconfig -nowin &
mate-session &
gnome-terminal &
chromium-browser &
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by DavidPostill
Source Link
d0g
  • 2.3k
  • 4
  • 36
  • 43

Looking for remote desktop / VNC connection from Mac client to Linux server with clipboard support

I have a remote Oracle Cloud VM running Ubuntu, and I want to remote in via VNC via macos Screen Sharing.

I have it working with Xvnc version TightVNC-1.3.10 but for the life of me cannot get shared clipboard to work.

Is there an alternative server/client setup that will work out of the box with a Mac client?

This is my xstartup

#!/bin/bash
xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
export DISPLAY=:1
eval $(dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session)
export XKL_XMODMAP_DISABLE=1
autocutsel -selection PRIMARY -fork &
vncconfig -nowin &
mate-session &
gnome-terminal &
chromium-browser &