Skip to main content
deleted 16 characters in body
Source Link
Sathyajith Bhat
  • 61.9k
  • 38
  • 181
  • 265
  • List item

I have been supplied a certificate file; CSR; Public Key and Private key by my SSL Cert reseller, all in txt files with ciphertext inside. I have to renew a ssl cert hosted on a IIS server, and the cert has to have the private key included inside for IIS to accept it. My Questions:

a) what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

b) What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

c) i understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do i use for open SSL?

d) Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

  1. what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

  2. What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

  3. I understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do I use for openSSL?

  4. Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

  • List item

I have been supplied a certificate file; CSR; Public Key and Private key by my SSL Cert reseller, all in txt files with ciphertext inside. I have to renew a ssl cert hosted on a IIS server, and the cert has to have the private key included inside for IIS to accept it. My Questions:

a) what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

b) What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

c) i understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do i use for open SSL?

d) Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

I have been supplied a certificate file; CSR; Public Key and Private key by my SSL Cert reseller, all in txt files with ciphertext inside. I have to renew a ssl cert hosted on a IIS server, and the cert has to have the private key included inside for IIS to accept it. My Questions:

  1. what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

  2. What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

  3. I understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do I use for openSSL?

  4. Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

deleted 56 characters in body
Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43.1k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137
  • List item

I have been supplied a certificate file; CSR; Public Key and Private key by my SSL Cert reseller, all in txt files with ciphertext inside. I have to renew a ssl cert hosted on a IIS server, and the cert has to have the private key included inside for IIS to accept it. My Questions:

a) what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

b) What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

c) i understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do i use for open SSL?

d) Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

Thankyou for your help with this frustrating problem :)

  • List item

I have been supplied a certificate file; CSR; Public Key and Private key by my SSL Cert reseller, all in txt files with ciphertext inside. I have to renew a ssl cert hosted on a IIS server, and the cert has to have the private key included inside for IIS to accept it. My Questions:

a) what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

b) What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

c) i understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do i use for open SSL?

d) Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

Thankyou for your help with this frustrating problem :)

  • List item

I have been supplied a certificate file; CSR; Public Key and Private key by my SSL Cert reseller, all in txt files with ciphertext inside. I have to renew a ssl cert hosted on a IIS server, and the cert has to have the private key included inside for IIS to accept it. My Questions:

a) what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

b) What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

c) i understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do i use for open SSL?

d) Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

added 22 characters in body; edited title
Source Link

HHow How to add Private key to SSL Cert

  • List item

I have been supplied a certificate file; CSR; Public Key and Private key by my SSL Cert reseller, all in txt files with ciphertext inside. I have to renew a ssl cert hosted on a IIS server, and the cert has to have the private key included inside for IIS to accept it. My Questions:

a) what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension) b

b) What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension) c

c) i understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do i use for open SSL? d

d) Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

Thankyou for your help with this frustrationfrustrating problem :)

HHow to add Private key to SSL Cert

I have been supplied a certificate file; CSR; Public Key and Private key by my SSL Cert reseller, all in txt files with ciphertext inside. I have to renew a ssl cert hosted on a IIS server, and the cert has to have the private key included inside for IIS to accept it. My Questions:

a) what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension) b) What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension) c) i understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do i use for open SSL? d) Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

Thankyou for your help with this frustration problem :)

How to add Private key to SSL Cert

  • List item

I have been supplied a certificate file; CSR; Public Key and Private key by my SSL Cert reseller, all in txt files with ciphertext inside. I have to renew a ssl cert hosted on a IIS server, and the cert has to have the private key included inside for IIS to accept it. My Questions:

a) what file extension does the cert file need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

b) What file extension does the private key need to be in? (i will rename txt file with ciphertext to this extension)

c) i understand you can use openssl to insert the private key into the cert. What command do i use for open SSL?

d) Obviously the cert and key will have to be in the correct format for open SSL to work - I have tried a number of different combinations but no luck yet!

Thankyou for your help with this frustrating problem :)

Source Link
Loading