Skip to main content
Removed corporate tag
Link
Burgi
  • 6.6k
  • 14
  • 40
  • 52
Post Closed as "Not suitable for this site" by Giacomo1968, Toto, music2myear, Blindspots, Joep van Steen
deleted 2 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

My HP laptop battery does not charge. It only shows 0% available all the time. The following is what I tried to do so far:

  1. I installed a BIOS update.
  2. I removed the battery from the laptop and opened it and here's what I found so far:
    1. The multimeter shows power on the cells as indicated in the images below: picture shows +14 volts on multimeter, propes on the cells

    2. There's a reading on the VH and VL located on the circuit board: +7 volts on the circuit board (VH and VL)

    3. There's a reading on the VM and VL: reading on the VM and VL

    4. There's a reading on the VH and VM: picture of reading on the VH and VM

      circuit board

      back of circuit board No reading on the pins picture showing No reading on the pins

    5. There might have been a small black component on the board (something fell out when I opened the battery case but I can't find it).

I don't know much about electronicelectronics and electronic engineering, but if you can give me any advice on how to fix my battery I would be grateful.


Update: I'm answering the questions in the comments.

My laptop, model HP Notebook - 15(15-ay031ni (ENERGY STAR), is older than 4 years. I had an experiment where I kept the charger on for a few months to see if the battery would last. I guess my experiment broke it. Is it possible that the "small black component" is causing the current from flowing? I don't think the cells are broken. I think the issue might be on the circuit board. Because there is no current on the pins, I think it might be the missing black components that is causing the issue. Do you agree? How do I fix it? Can I use ones from another battery?

Find below a picture of the circuit board.

circuit board 1

My HP laptop battery does not charge. It only shows 0% available all the time. The following is what I tried to do so far:

  1. I installed a BIOS update.
  2. I removed the battery from the laptop and opened it and here's what I found so far:
    1. The multimeter shows power on the cells as indicated in the images below: picture shows +14 volts on multimeter, propes on the cells

    2. There's a reading on the VH and VL located on the circuit board: +7 volts on the circuit board (VH and VL)

    3. There's a reading on the VM and VL: reading on the VM and VL

    4. There's a reading on the VH and VM: picture of reading on the VH and VM

      circuit board

      back of circuit board No reading on the pins picture showing No reading on the pins

    5. There might have been a small black component on the board (something fell out when I opened the battery case but I can't find it).

I don't know much about electronic and electronic engineering, but if you can give me any advice on how to fix my battery I would be grateful.


Update: I'm answering the questions in the comments.

My laptop, model HP Notebook - 15-ay031ni (ENERGY STAR), is older than 4 years. I had an experiment where I kept the charger on for a few months to see if the battery would last. I guess my experiment broke it. Is it possible that the "small black component" is causing the current from flowing? I don't think the cells are broken. I think the issue might be on the circuit board. Because there is no current on the pins, I think it might be the missing black components that is causing the issue. Do you agree? How do I fix it? Can I use ones from another battery?

Find below a picture of the circuit board.

circuit board 1

My HP laptop battery does not charge. It only shows 0% available all the time. The following is what I tried to do so far:

  1. I installed a BIOS update.
  2. I removed the battery from the laptop and opened it and here's what I found so far:
    1. The multimeter shows power on the cells as indicated in the images below: picture shows +14 volts on multimeter, propes on the cells

    2. There's a reading on the VH and VL located on the circuit board: +7 volts on the circuit board (VH and VL)

    3. There's a reading on the VM and VL: reading on the VM and VL

    4. There's a reading on the VH and VM: picture of reading on the VH and VM

      circuit board

      back of circuit board No reading on the pins picture showing No reading on the pins

    5. There might have been a small black component on the board (something fell out when I opened the battery case but I can't find it).

I don't know much about electronics and electronic engineering, but if you can give me any advice on how to fix my battery I would be grateful.


Update: I'm answering the questions in the comments.

My laptop, model HP Notebook (15-ay031ni), is older than 4 years. I had an experiment where I kept the charger on for a few months to see if the battery would last. I guess my experiment broke it. Is it possible that the "small black component" is causing the current from flowing? I don't think the cells are broken. I think the issue might be on the circuit board. Because there is no current on the pins, I think it might be the missing black components that is causing the issue. Do you agree? How do I fix it? Can I use ones from another battery?

Find below a picture of the circuit board.

circuit board 1

Corrected a sentence
Source Link

My HP laptop battery does not charge. It only shows 0% available all the time. The following is what I tried to do so far:

  1. I installed a BIOS update.
  2. I removed the battery from the laptop and opened it and here's what I found so far:
    1. The multimeter shows power on the cells as indicated in the images below: picture shows +14 volts on multimeter, propes on the cells

    2. There's a reading on the VH and VL located on the circuit board: +7 volts on the circuit board (VH and VL)

    3. There's a reading on the VM and VL: reading on the VM and VL

    4. There's a reading on the VH and VM: picture of reading on the VH and VM

      circuit board

      back of circuit board No reading on the pins picture showing No reading on the pins

    5. There might have been a small black component here where the green circle is inon the pictureboard (something fell out when I opened the battery case but I can't find it).

I don't know much about electronic and electronic engineering, but if you can give me any advice on how to fix my battery I would be grateful.


Update: I'm answering the questions in the comments.

My laptop, model HP Notebook - 15-ay031ni (ENERGY STAR), is older than 4 years. I had an experiment where I kept the charger on for a few months to see if the battery would last. I guess my experiment broke it. Is it possible that the "small black component" is causing the current from flowing? I don't think the cells are broken. I think the issue might be on the circuit board. Because there is no current on the pins, I think it might be the missing black components that is causing the issue. Do you agree? How do I fix it? Can I use ones from another battery?

Find below a picture of the circuit board.

circuit board 1

My HP laptop battery does not charge. It only shows 0% available all the time. The following is what I tried to do so far:

  1. I installed a BIOS update.
  2. I removed the battery from the laptop and opened it and here's what I found so far:
    1. The multimeter shows power on the cells as indicated in the images below: picture shows +14 volts on multimeter, propes on the cells

    2. There's a reading on the VH and VL located on the circuit board: +7 volts on the circuit board (VH and VL)

    3. There's a reading on the VM and VL: reading on the VM and VL

    4. There's a reading on the VH and VM: picture of reading on the VH and VM

      circuit board

      back of circuit board No reading on the pins picture showing No reading on the pins

    5. There might have been a small black component here where the green circle is in the picture (something fell out when I opened the battery case but I can't find it).

I don't know much about electronic and electronic engineering, but if you can give me any advice on how to fix my battery I would be grateful.


Update: I'm answering the questions in the comments.

My laptop, model HP Notebook - 15-ay031ni (ENERGY STAR), is older than 4 years. I had an experiment where I kept the charger on for a few months to see if the battery would last. I guess my experiment broke it. Is it possible that the "small black component" is causing the current from flowing? I don't think the cells are broken. I think the issue might be on the circuit board. Because there is no current on the pins, I think it might be the missing black components that is causing the issue. Do you agree? How do I fix it? Can I use ones from another battery?

Find below a picture of the circuit board.

circuit board 1

My HP laptop battery does not charge. It only shows 0% available all the time. The following is what I tried to do so far:

  1. I installed a BIOS update.
  2. I removed the battery from the laptop and opened it and here's what I found so far:
    1. The multimeter shows power on the cells as indicated in the images below: picture shows +14 volts on multimeter, propes on the cells

    2. There's a reading on the VH and VL located on the circuit board: +7 volts on the circuit board (VH and VL)

    3. There's a reading on the VM and VL: reading on the VM and VL

    4. There's a reading on the VH and VM: picture of reading on the VH and VM

      circuit board

      back of circuit board No reading on the pins picture showing No reading on the pins

    5. There might have been a small black component on the board (something fell out when I opened the battery case but I can't find it).

I don't know much about electronic and electronic engineering, but if you can give me any advice on how to fix my battery I would be grateful.


Update: I'm answering the questions in the comments.

My laptop, model HP Notebook - 15-ay031ni (ENERGY STAR), is older than 4 years. I had an experiment where I kept the charger on for a few months to see if the battery would last. I guess my experiment broke it. Is it possible that the "small black component" is causing the current from flowing? I don't think the cells are broken. I think the issue might be on the circuit board. Because there is no current on the pins, I think it might be the missing black components that is causing the issue. Do you agree? How do I fix it? Can I use ones from another battery?

Find below a picture of the circuit board.

circuit board 1

added 12 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214
Loading
added 12 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214
Loading
Typo
Source Link
Loading
more details
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading