Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
added 3 characters in body; edited title
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

If there a way to add black margins/padding to my monitor without effectingaffecting the resolution?

I have a new monitor and it has these beveled edges that makes the left and right side have these curved, faded, black gradient. It cuts away at the edges and looks worse depending on what angle I'm leaning at.

If I use nvidia'sNvidia's control panel to resize the resolution.   

enter image description here

It adds margins, but creates new issues. I

I have programs that are dependent on 1920x1080 resolution and this change breaks them.

Is there a way to add black margins around the edges of my monitor while retaining the exact resolution so that I don't see those curved edges cut away what I'm looking at?

I think the old CRT monitors used to be able to do it and even let you change the position of the image on screen. My monitor only has the ability to change between 4:3 aspect ratio and 16:9. No other reshaping settings.

If there a way to add black margins/padding to my monitor without effecting the resolution?

I have a new monitor and it has these beveled edges that makes the left and right side have these curved, faded, black gradient. It cuts away at the edges and looks worse depending on what angle I'm leaning at.

If I use nvidia's control panel to resize the resolution.  enter image description here

It adds margins, but creates new issues. I have programs that are dependent on 1920x1080 resolution and this change breaks them.

Is there a way to add black margins around the edges of my monitor while retaining the exact resolution so that I don't see those curved edges cut away what I'm looking at?

I think the old CRT monitors used to be able to do it and even let you change the position of the image on screen. My monitor only has the ability to change between 4:3 aspect ratio and 16:9. No other reshaping settings.

If there a way to add black margins/padding to my monitor without affecting the resolution?

I have a new monitor and it has these beveled edges that makes the left and right side have these curved, faded, black gradient. It cuts away at the edges and looks worse depending on what angle I'm leaning at.

If I use Nvidia's control panel to resize the resolution. 

enter image description here

It adds margins, but creates new issues.

I have programs that are dependent on 1920x1080 resolution and this change breaks them.

Is there a way to add black margins around the edges of my monitor while retaining the exact resolution so that I don't see those curved edges cut away what I'm looking at?

I think the old CRT monitors used to be able to do it and even let you change the position of the image on screen. My monitor only has the ability to change between 4:3 aspect ratio and 16:9. No other reshaping settings.

added 6 characters in body
Source Link
John
  • 201
  • 2
  • 9

I have a new monitor and it has these beveled edges that makes the left and right side have these curved, faded, black gradient. It cuts away at the edges and looks worse depending on what angle I'm leaning at.

If I use nvidia's control panel to resize the resolution. enter image description here It

It adds margins, but creates new issues. I have programs that are dependent on 1920x1080 resolution and this change breaks them.

Is there a way to add black margins around the edges of my monitor while retaining the exact resolution so that I don't see those curved edges cut away what I'm looking at?

I think the old CRT monitors used to be able to do it and even let you change the position of the image on screen. My monitor only has the ability to change between 4:3 aspect ratio and 16:9. No other reshaping settings.

I have a new monitor and it has these beveled edges that makes the left and right side have these curved, faded, black gradient. It cuts away at the edges and looks worse depending on what angle I'm leaning at.

If I use nvidia's control panel to resize the resolution. enter image description here It adds margins, creates new issues. I have programs that are dependent on 1920x1080 resolution and this change breaks them.

Is there a way to add black margins around the edges of my monitor while retaining the exact resolution so that I don't see those curved edges cut away what I'm looking at?

I think the old CRT monitors used to be able to do it and even let you change the position of the image on screen. My monitor only has the ability to change between 4:3 aspect ratio and 16:9. No other reshaping settings.

I have a new monitor and it has these beveled edges that makes the left and right side have these curved, faded, black gradient. It cuts away at the edges and looks worse depending on what angle I'm leaning at.

If I use nvidia's control panel to resize the resolution. enter image description here

It adds margins, but creates new issues. I have programs that are dependent on 1920x1080 resolution and this change breaks them.

Is there a way to add black margins around the edges of my monitor while retaining the exact resolution so that I don't see those curved edges cut away what I'm looking at?

I think the old CRT monitors used to be able to do it and even let you change the position of the image on screen. My monitor only has the ability to change between 4:3 aspect ratio and 16:9. No other reshaping settings.

Source Link
John
  • 201
  • 2
  • 9

If there a way to add black margins/padding to my monitor without effecting the resolution?

I have a new monitor and it has these beveled edges that makes the left and right side have these curved, faded, black gradient. It cuts away at the edges and looks worse depending on what angle I'm leaning at.

If I use nvidia's control panel to resize the resolution. enter image description here It adds margins, creates new issues. I have programs that are dependent on 1920x1080 resolution and this change breaks them.

Is there a way to add black margins around the edges of my monitor while retaining the exact resolution so that I don't see those curved edges cut away what I'm looking at?

I think the old CRT monitors used to be able to do it and even let you change the position of the image on screen. My monitor only has the ability to change between 4:3 aspect ratio and 16:9. No other reshaping settings.