Skip to main content
added 94 characters in body
Source Link

I am using Windows 10 but this question can probably apply to other versions of Windows.

I want to open multiple desktops in windows and swap between them using the WIN+TAB shortcut. I don't always need a taskbar on some desktops, so why not disable it on certain desktops?

I don't see an option to do that in the built-in Windows settings. I downloaded TransluscentTB, don't see any option for handling different desktops.

Took a look at ButteryTaskbar 2 but it's written in Jai. That is a closed beta language at the moment, so I can't modify it's source code to do what I want (although given the similarity to C I can guess, ultimately it calls the Windows APIs anyway).

I vaguely recall using some software that could manage the Windows virtual desktops, before, although maybe it couldn't hide the taskbar, but I no longer remember it. What I essentially need to do is:

  1. Identify the current desktop ID. This is trivial if I can find a few lines of code to do it.
  2. Hide the taskbar on a per desktop ID basis. Non-trivial, it depends on how the taskbar works, I don't know if it's even aware of different desktops beyond "This is desktop 0 and that isn't desktop 0".

I'll try to look on MDN later but I don't really want to do this if someone has a working solution

I am using Windows 10 but this question can probably apply to other versions of Windows.

I want to open multiple desktops in windows and swap between them using the WIN+TAB shortcut. I don't always need a taskbar on some desktops, so why not disable it on certain desktops?

I don't see an option to do that in the built-in Windows settings. I downloaded TransluscentTB, don't see any option for handling different desktops.

Took a look at ButteryTaskbar 2 but it's written in Jai. That is a closed beta language at the moment, so I can't modify it's source code to do what I want.

I vaguely recall using some software that could manage the Windows virtual desktops, before, although maybe it couldn't hide the taskbar, but I no longer remember it. What I essentially need to do is:

  1. Identify the current desktop ID. This is trivial if I can find a few lines of code to do it.
  2. Hide the taskbar on a per desktop ID basis. Non-trivial, it depends on how the taskbar works, I don't know if it's even aware of different desktops beyond "This is desktop 0 and that isn't desktop 0".

I'll try to look on MDN later but I don't really want to do this if someone has a working solution

I am using Windows 10 but this question can probably apply to other versions of Windows.

I want to open multiple desktops in windows and swap between them using the WIN+TAB shortcut. I don't always need a taskbar on some desktops, so why not disable it on certain desktops?

I don't see an option to do that in the built-in Windows settings. I downloaded TransluscentTB, don't see any option for handling different desktops.

Took a look at ButteryTaskbar 2 but it's written in Jai. That is a closed beta language at the moment, so I can't modify it's source code to do what I want (although given the similarity to C I can guess, ultimately it calls the Windows APIs anyway).

I vaguely recall using some software that could manage the Windows virtual desktops, before, although maybe it couldn't hide the taskbar, but I no longer remember it. What I essentially need to do is:

  1. Identify the current desktop ID. This is trivial if I can find a few lines of code to do it.
  2. Hide the taskbar on a per desktop ID basis. Non-trivial, it depends on how the taskbar works, I don't know if it's even aware of different desktops beyond "This is desktop 0 and that isn't desktop 0".

I'll try to look on MDN later but I don't really want to do this if someone has a working solution

Source Link

Hide taskbar on specific desktop

I am using Windows 10 but this question can probably apply to other versions of Windows.

I want to open multiple desktops in windows and swap between them using the WIN+TAB shortcut. I don't always need a taskbar on some desktops, so why not disable it on certain desktops?

I don't see an option to do that in the built-in Windows settings. I downloaded TransluscentTB, don't see any option for handling different desktops.

Took a look at ButteryTaskbar 2 but it's written in Jai. That is a closed beta language at the moment, so I can't modify it's source code to do what I want.

I vaguely recall using some software that could manage the Windows virtual desktops, before, although maybe it couldn't hide the taskbar, but I no longer remember it. What I essentially need to do is:

  1. Identify the current desktop ID. This is trivial if I can find a few lines of code to do it.
  2. Hide the taskbar on a per desktop ID basis. Non-trivial, it depends on how the taskbar works, I don't know if it's even aware of different desktops beyond "This is desktop 0 and that isn't desktop 0".

I'll try to look on MDN later but I don't really want to do this if someone has a working solution