Skip to main content
added 10 characters in body
Source Link
mazda
  • 177
  • 12

I have two traceroute programs installed and I've noticed that they don't have the same permissions:

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute

-rwsr-xr-x 1 root root 60184 August 23, 2023 /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/traceroute.db

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 72944 25 feb 2023 /usr/bin/traceroute.db

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute 
-rwsr-xr-x 1 root root 60184 August 23, 2023 /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/traceroute.db
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 72944 25 feb 2023 /usr/bin/traceroute.db

You can see that traceroute.db doesn't have the special permission "s" and that's why I installed inetutils-traceroute which allows me to use the -I option as a user. But this program comes with a lot of other programs that I don't need at all.

So my question is: can I safely add this special "s" permission to traceroute.db so as to keep only the original package installed by Debian?

I have two traceroute programs installed and I've noticed that they don't have the same permissions:

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute

-rwsr-xr-x 1 root root 60184 August 23, 2023 /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/traceroute.db

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 72944 25 feb 2023 /usr/bin/traceroute.db

You can see that traceroute.db doesn't have the special permission "s" and that's why I installed inetutils-traceroute which allows me to use the -I option as a user. But this program comes with a lot of other programs that I don't need at all.

So my question is: can I safely add this special "s" permission to traceroute.db so as to keep only the original package installed by Debian?

I have two traceroute programs installed and I've noticed that they don't have the same permissions:

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute 
-rwsr-xr-x 1 root root 60184 August 23, 2023 /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/traceroute.db
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 72944 25 feb 2023 /usr/bin/traceroute.db

You can see that traceroute.db doesn't have the special permission "s" and that's why I installed inetutils-traceroute which allows me to use the -I option as a user. But this program comes with a lot of other programs that I don't need at all.

So my question is: can I safely add this special "s" permission to traceroute.db so as to keep only the original package installed by Debian?

Source Link
mazda
  • 177
  • 12

Is it safe to grant special permission "s" to traceroute.db?

I have two traceroute programs installed and I've noticed that they don't have the same permissions:

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute

-rwsr-xr-x 1 root root 60184 August 23, 2023 /usr/bin/inetutils-traceroute

~$ ls -l /usr/bin/traceroute.db

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 72944 25 feb 2023 /usr/bin/traceroute.db

You can see that traceroute.db doesn't have the special permission "s" and that's why I installed inetutils-traceroute which allows me to use the -I option as a user. But this program comes with a lot of other programs that I don't need at all.

So my question is: can I safely add this special "s" permission to traceroute.db so as to keep only the original package installed by Debian?