Skip to main content
7 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 5 at 10:33 audit First answers
Apr 5 at 10:33
Apr 2 at 17:27 comment added jcaron If dnscache is running on the Windows host, can't one just add 127.0.0.1 to the nslookup command line to tell it to query that server? -- Doesn't seem to be a running on a default Windows install though.
Apr 2 at 16:28 comment added nullromo @Wastrel thanks for the idea, but I need a machine-agnostic method that works without admin access. And I won't know the IP address, hence the need for nslookup.
Apr 2 at 14:02 comment added Wastrel I am not a Windows user any more. But I think you can add your device name and IP address to the Windows hosts file and nslookup will find it there. Google 'where is the Windows hosts file' for instructions.
Apr 1 at 20:50 comment added nullromo If you can edit this answer to solve the problem without using PowerShell, I will accept this as the answer. Otherwise, I'll go with my PowerShell answer.
Apr 1 at 20:42 comment added nullromo Thank you for the helpful information. In this case, it helped me rephrase the question. I have edited the question accordingly. What I really care about in this situation is looking up the IP address of my device from a Windows machine that does not have WSL.
Apr 1 at 19:36 history answered grawity_u1686 CC BY-SA 4.0