Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

5
  • Thank you for the helpful information. In this case, it helped me rephrase the question. I have edited the question accordingly. What I really care about in this situation is looking up the IP address of my device from a Windows machine that does not have WSL.
    – nullromo
    Commented Apr 1 at 20:42
  • If you can edit this answer to solve the problem without using PowerShell, I will accept this as the answer. Otherwise, I'll go with my PowerShell answer.
    – nullromo
    Commented Apr 1 at 20:50
  • I am not a Windows user any more. But I think you can add your device name and IP address to the Windows hosts file and nslookup will find it there. Google 'where is the Windows hosts file' for instructions.
    – Wastrel
    Commented Apr 2 at 14:02
  • @Wastrel thanks for the idea, but I need a machine-agnostic method that works without admin access. And I won't know the IP address, hence the need for nslookup.
    – nullromo
    Commented Apr 2 at 16:28
  • If dnscache is running on the Windows host, can't one just add 127.0.0.1 to the nslookup command line to tell it to query that server? -- Doesn't seem to be a running on a default Windows install though.
    – jcaron
    Commented Apr 2 at 17:27