Skip to main content
edited tags; edited title
Link
Joep van Steen
  • 7k
  • 2
  • 20
  • 43

Storage Drive Gone Bad - Ran a HEALTH check on my external drive with HD Tune Pro and REALLOCATED SECTOR COUNT is 4948. Need someRequest for advice

added 9 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.2k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

Image of HD Tune Pro HEALTH reportImage of HD Tune Pro HEALTH report

I felt need of testing because some of my stored games were failing to boot properly. Quick test from HD Tune Pro app displayed 3 red blocks in one of the test runs and a full test always reports 3 Red blocks of bad sectors.

Hence:

  1. How bad is it in a count from 1-10 (Score of 1 being worst and 10 being Flawless)
  2. I am currently using it as external expansion drive for games for my xbox. To extend whatever life possible should i better use it for storing 4K UHD BluRay Rips that i stream with plex. Basically i want to know out of these two usage scenarios what puts the least stress on the drive and potentially buys me some time.

Image of HD Tune Pro HEALTH report

I felt need of testing because some of my stored games were failing to boot properly. Quick test from HD Tune Pro app displayed 3 red blocks in one of the test runs and a full test always reports 3 Red blocks of bad sectors.

Hence

  1. How bad is it in a count from 1-10 (Score of 1 being worst and 10 being Flawless)
  2. I am currently using it as external expansion drive for games for my xbox. To extend whatever life possible should i better use it for storing 4K UHD BluRay Rips that i stream with plex. Basically i want to know out of these two usage scenarios what puts the least stress on the drive and potentially buys me some time

Image of HD Tune Pro HEALTH report

I felt need of testing because some of my stored games were failing to boot properly. Quick test from HD Tune Pro app displayed 3 red blocks in one of the test runs and a full test always reports 3 Red blocks of bad sectors.

Hence:

  1. How bad is it in a count from 1-10 (Score of 1 being worst and 10 being Flawless)
  2. I am currently using it as external expansion drive for games for my xbox. To extend whatever life possible should i better use it for storing 4K UHD BluRay Rips that i stream with plex. Basically i want to know out of these two usage scenarios what puts the least stress on the drive and potentially buys me some time.
Source Link

Storage Drive Gone Bad - Ran a HEALTH check on my external drive with HD Tune Pro and REALLOCATED SECTOR COUNT is 4948. Need some advice

Image of HD Tune Pro HEALTH report

I felt need of testing because some of my stored games were failing to boot properly. Quick test from HD Tune Pro app displayed 3 red blocks in one of the test runs and a full test always reports 3 Red blocks of bad sectors.

Hence

  1. How bad is it in a count from 1-10 (Score of 1 being worst and 10 being Flawless)
  2. I am currently using it as external expansion drive for games for my xbox. To extend whatever life possible should i better use it for storing 4K UHD BluRay Rips that i stream with plex. Basically i want to know out of these two usage scenarios what puts the least stress on the drive and potentially buys me some time