Skip to main content

Is there a general purpose scripting language that I can expect to find on (almost) all Windows instalationsinstallations?

Became Hot Network Question
spelling
Source Link

I'm deciding on the programming language I want to use for a simple script that will make a HTTP request checking for avaliable updates, download the update if avaliable and execute a program. On MacOS and all distros of Linux I can safely bet that some version of python will be avaliable on the system - and if a Linux distro doesn't come with python, I can safely assume that user of such niche OS will know how to install it.

But with Windows I know that out of the box it doesnt't have python, jre, or even runtime libraries for running CLR languages. Is there anything else beside Powershell I can use?

The program is distributed for Windows as a ZIP file and it's portable (non installer required). This is why I want the language to already to be already avaliable on user's system.

I'm deciding on the programming language I want to use for a simple script that will make a HTTP request checking for avaliable updates, download the update if avaliable and execute a program. On MacOS and all distros of Linux I can safely bet that some version of python will be avaliable on the system - and if a Linux distro doesn't come with python, I can safely assume that user of such niche OS will know how to install it.

But with Windows I know that out of the box it doesnt't have python, jre, or even runtime libraries for running CLR languages. Is there anything else beside Powershell I can use?

The program is distributed for Windows as a ZIP file and it's portable (non installer required). This is why I want the language to already to be already avaliable on user's system.

I'm deciding on the programming language I want to use for a simple script that will make a HTTP request checking for avaliable updates, download the update if avaliable and execute a program. On MacOS and all distros of Linux I can safely bet that some version of python will be avaliable on the system - and if a Linux distro doesn't come with python, I can safely assume that user of such niche OS will know how to install it.

But with Windows I know that out of the box it doesnt't have python, jre, or even runtime libraries for running CLR languages. Is there anything else beside Powershell I can use?

The program is distributed for Windows as a ZIP file and it's portable (non installer required). This is why I want the language to already to be avaliable on user's system.

Source Link

Is there a general purpose scripting language that I can expect to find on (almost) all Windows instalations?

I'm deciding on the programming language I want to use for a simple script that will make a HTTP request checking for avaliable updates, download the update if avaliable and execute a program. On MacOS and all distros of Linux I can safely bet that some version of python will be avaliable on the system - and if a Linux distro doesn't come with python, I can safely assume that user of such niche OS will know how to install it.

But with Windows I know that out of the box it doesnt't have python, jre, or even runtime libraries for running CLR languages. Is there anything else beside Powershell I can use?

The program is distributed for Windows as a ZIP file and it's portable (non installer required). This is why I want the language to already to be already avaliable on user's system.