Skip to main content
edited title
Link
Dean
  • 125
  • 1
  • 7

What's the difference PCIe x16 (x8x4) vs x16

typo
Source Link
Dean
  • 125
  • 1
  • 7

I'm a first time PC builder. I'm looking at mainboards. Some mainboards say they have a "PCIE 4.0 x16 (x4)" connection. I know what PCIE 4.0 x16 is but the (x4) confuses me. (Example mainboard: MSI PRO B760-P WIFI DDR4)

Does that mean that that particular PCIE slot will be x16 in length but can only run at x8x4 speed? Some mainboards even have PCIE 3.0 x16 (x1) at which point I'm asking myself why even use the manufacturing material to make the slot that long only for it to supportbe able to use x1 speed. at max.

I'm a first time PC builder. I'm looking at mainboards. Some mainboards say they have a "PCIE 4.0 x16 (x4)" connection. I know what PCIE 4.0 x16 is but the (x4) confuses me. (Example mainboard: MSI PRO B760-P WIFI DDR4)

Does that mean that that particular PCIE slot will be x16 in length but can only run at x8 speed? Some mainboards even have PCIE 3.0 x16 (x1) at which point I'm asking myself why even use the manufacturing material to make the slot that long only for it to support x1 speed..

I'm a first time PC builder. I'm looking at mainboards. Some mainboards say they have a "PCIE 4.0 x16 (x4)" connection. I know what PCIE 4.0 x16 is but the (x4) confuses me. (Example mainboard: MSI PRO B760-P WIFI DDR4)

Does that mean that that particular PCIE slot will be x16 in length but can only run at x4 speed? Some mainboards even have PCIE 3.0 x16 (x1) at which point I'm asking myself why even use the manufacturing material to make the slot that long only for it to be able to use x1 speed at max.

Source Link
Dean
  • 125
  • 1
  • 7

What's the difference x16 (x8) vs x16

I'm a first time PC builder. I'm looking at mainboards. Some mainboards say they have a "PCIE 4.0 x16 (x4)" connection. I know what PCIE 4.0 x16 is but the (x4) confuses me. (Example mainboard: MSI PRO B760-P WIFI DDR4)

Does that mean that that particular PCIE slot will be x16 in length but can only run at x8 speed? Some mainboards even have PCIE 3.0 x16 (x1) at which point I'm asking myself why even use the manufacturing material to make the slot that long only for it to support x1 speed..