Skip to main content
Caveat Emptor means let the buyer beware. Caveat Homebrewer (singular to agree w/caveat) is fake Latin, intended to mean let the Homebrewer beware. Caveat emptor homebrewers doesn't make sense :-)
Source Link
Chap
  • 191
  • 9

I noticed that the permissions for /Users/chap/ on the MacBook Pro (10.15.7) were 777. Changing them to 755 fixed everything.

I'm not certain when or how the permissions were changed, or what else could have changed so that these incorrect permissions were now causing public key SSH authentication to fail. The System Information Software Installation log lists nothing more recent than MacOS Catalina Security Update 2022-005, applied 8/27/2022. I log in to this machine every day, and the login failure began only several days ago.

Update: Something did change:

I have a special, dedicated user on the Catalina machine where I run Homebrew. However, it's not the user I was having trouble with. I figured that, just like in more recent versions of macOS, I could enable the presence of Homebrew by simply adding its installation directory to the $PATH variable in .bash_profile. On Sonoma, it's /opt/homebrew. On Catalina and earlier, it's /usr/local/bin.

For the user I was having trouble SSH’ing into, I had omitted appending /usr/local/bin from $PATH, intending to eliminate any Homebrew related installs from the mix.

I was wrong.

It turns out that the system — that is, macOS — prepends /usr/local/bin to $PATH automatically.

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin

Furthermore, when I recently ran brew upgrade, it upgraded openssl:

$ /usr/bin/openssl version
LibreSSL 2.8.3
$ /usr/local/bin/openssl version
OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024 (Library: OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024)

So all along, every SSH user on my Catalina has been accessing OpenSSL provided by Homebrew, and it was recently updated. I don't know precisely how this changed the way SSH worked, but it seems very likely that a recent Homebrew upgrade was somehow responsible for this problem.

Caveat Emptor HomebrewersHomebrewer!

I noticed that the permissions for /Users/chap/ on the MacBook Pro (10.15.7) were 777. Changing them to 755 fixed everything.

I'm not certain when or how the permissions were changed, or what else could have changed so that these incorrect permissions were now causing public key SSH authentication to fail. The System Information Software Installation log lists nothing more recent than MacOS Catalina Security Update 2022-005, applied 8/27/2022. I log in to this machine every day, and the login failure began only several days ago.

Update: Something did change:

I have a special, dedicated user on the Catalina machine where I run Homebrew. However, it's not the user I was having trouble with. I figured that, just like in more recent versions of macOS, I could enable the presence of Homebrew by simply adding its installation directory to the $PATH variable in .bash_profile. On Sonoma, it's /opt/homebrew. On Catalina and earlier, it's /usr/local/bin.

For the user I was having trouble SSH’ing into, I had omitted appending /usr/local/bin from $PATH, intending to eliminate any Homebrew related installs from the mix.

I was wrong.

It turns out that the system — that is, macOS — prepends /usr/local/bin to $PATH automatically.

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin

Furthermore, when I recently ran brew upgrade, it upgraded openssl:

$ /usr/bin/openssl version
LibreSSL 2.8.3
$ /usr/local/bin/openssl version
OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024 (Library: OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024)

So all along, every SSH user on my Catalina has been accessing OpenSSL provided by Homebrew, and it was recently updated. I don't know precisely how this changed the way SSH worked, but it seems very likely that a recent Homebrew upgrade was somehow responsible for this problem.

Caveat Emptor Homebrewers!

I noticed that the permissions for /Users/chap/ on the MacBook Pro (10.15.7) were 777. Changing them to 755 fixed everything.

I'm not certain when or how the permissions were changed, or what else could have changed so that these incorrect permissions were now causing public key SSH authentication to fail. The System Information Software Installation log lists nothing more recent than MacOS Catalina Security Update 2022-005, applied 8/27/2022. I log in to this machine every day, and the login failure began only several days ago.

Update: Something did change:

I have a special, dedicated user on the Catalina machine where I run Homebrew. However, it's not the user I was having trouble with. I figured that, just like in more recent versions of macOS, I could enable the presence of Homebrew by simply adding its installation directory to the $PATH variable in .bash_profile. On Sonoma, it's /opt/homebrew. On Catalina and earlier, it's /usr/local/bin.

For the user I was having trouble SSH’ing into, I had omitted appending /usr/local/bin from $PATH, intending to eliminate any Homebrew related installs from the mix.

I was wrong.

It turns out that the system — that is, macOS — prepends /usr/local/bin to $PATH automatically.

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin

Furthermore, when I recently ran brew upgrade, it upgraded openssl:

$ /usr/bin/openssl version
LibreSSL 2.8.3
$ /usr/local/bin/openssl version
OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024 (Library: OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024)

So all along, every SSH user on my Catalina has been accessing OpenSSL provided by Homebrew, and it was recently updated. I don't know precisely how this changed the way SSH worked, but it seems very likely that a recent Homebrew upgrade was somehow responsible for this problem.

Caveat Homebrewer!

added 18 characters in body
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.1k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

I noticed that the permissions for /Users/chap/ on the MacBook Pro (10.15.7) were 777. Changing them to 755 fixed everything.

I'm not certain when or how the permissions were changed, or what else could have changed so that these incorrect permissions were now causing public key SSH authentication to fail. The System Information Software Installation log lists nothing more recent than MacOS Catalina Security Update 2022-005, applied 8/27/2022. I log in to this machine every day, and the login failure began only several days ago.

Update

 : Something did change:

I have a special, dedicated user on the Catalina machine where I run Homebrew. However, it's not the user I was having trouble with. I figured that, just like in more recent versions of macOS, I could enable the presence of Homebrew by simply adding its installation directory to the $PATH variable in .bash_profile. On Sonoma, it's /opt/homebrew. On Catalina and earlier, it's /usr/local/bin.

For the user I was having trouble ssh'ingSSH’ing into, I had omitted appending /usr/local/bin from $PATH, intending to eliminate any Homebrew softwarerelated installs from the mix.

I was wrong. 

It turns out that the system - that is, macOS - prepends /usr/local/bin to $PATH automatically.

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin

Furthermore, when I recently ran brew upgrade, it upgraded openssl:

$ /usr/bin/openssl version
LibreSSL 2.8.3
$ /usr/local/bin/openssl version
OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024 (Library: OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024)

So all along, every SSH user on my Catalina has been accessing OpenSSL provided by Homebrew, and it was recently updated. I don't know precisely how this changed the way SSH worked, but it seems very likely that a recent Homebrew upgrade was somehow responsible for this problem.

Caveat Homebrewers!

Caveat Emptor Homebrewers!

I noticed that the permissions for /Users/chap/ on the MacBook Pro (10.15.7) were 777. Changing them to 755 fixed everything.

I'm not certain when or how the permissions were changed, or what else could have changed so that these incorrect permissions were now causing public key SSH authentication to fail. The System Information Software Installation log lists nothing more recent than MacOS Catalina Security Update 2022-005, applied 8/27/2022. I log in to this machine every day, and the login failure began only several days ago.

Update

  Something did change:

I have a special, dedicated user on the Catalina machine where I run Homebrew. However, it's not the user I was having trouble with. I figured that, just like in more recent versions of macOS, I could enable the presence of Homebrew by simply adding its installation directory to the $PATH variable in .bash_profile. On Sonoma, it's /opt/homebrew. On Catalina and earlier, it's /usr/local/bin.

For the user I was having trouble ssh'ing into, I had omitted appending /usr/local/bin from $PATH, intending to eliminate any Homebrew software from the mix.

I was wrong. It turns out that the system - that is, macOS - prepends /usr/local/bin to $PATH automatically.

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin

Furthermore, when I recently ran brew upgrade, it upgraded openssl:

$ /usr/bin/openssl version
LibreSSL 2.8.3
$ /usr/local/bin/openssl version
OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024 (Library: OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024)

So all along, every SSH user on my Catalina has been accessing OpenSSL provided by Homebrew, and it was recently updated. I don't know precisely how this changed the way SSH worked, but it seems very likely that a recent Homebrew upgrade was somehow responsible for this problem.

Caveat Homebrewers!

I noticed that the permissions for /Users/chap/ on the MacBook Pro (10.15.7) were 777. Changing them to 755 fixed everything.

I'm not certain when or how the permissions were changed, or what else could have changed so that these incorrect permissions were now causing public key SSH authentication to fail. The System Information Software Installation log lists nothing more recent than MacOS Catalina Security Update 2022-005, applied 8/27/2022. I log in to this machine every day, and the login failure began only several days ago.

Update: Something did change:

I have a special, dedicated user on the Catalina machine where I run Homebrew. However, it's not the user I was having trouble with. I figured that, just like in more recent versions of macOS, I could enable the presence of Homebrew by simply adding its installation directory to the $PATH variable in .bash_profile. On Sonoma, it's /opt/homebrew. On Catalina and earlier, it's /usr/local/bin.

For the user I was having trouble SSH’ing into, I had omitted appending /usr/local/bin from $PATH, intending to eliminate any Homebrew related installs from the mix.

I was wrong. 

It turns out that the system that is, macOS prepends /usr/local/bin to $PATH automatically.

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin

Furthermore, when I recently ran brew upgrade, it upgraded openssl:

$ /usr/bin/openssl version
LibreSSL 2.8.3
$ /usr/local/bin/openssl version
OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024 (Library: OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024)

So all along, every SSH user on my Catalina has been accessing OpenSSL provided by Homebrew, and it was recently updated. I don't know precisely how this changed the way SSH worked, but it seems very likely that a recent Homebrew upgrade was somehow responsible for this problem.

Caveat Emptor Homebrewers!

Added update, detailing influence of Homebrew
Source Link
Chap
  • 191
  • 9

I noticed that the permissions for /Users/chap/ on the MacBook Pro (10.15.7) were 777. Changing them to 755 fixed everything.

I'm not certain when or how the permissions were changed, or what else could have changed so that these incorrect permissions were now causing public key SSH authentication to fail. The System Information Software Installation log lists nothing more recent than MacOS Catalina Security Update 2022-005, applied 8/27/2022. I log in to this machine every day, and the login failure began only several days ago.

Update

Something did change:

I have a special, dedicated user on the Catalina machine where I run Homebrew. However, it's not the user I was having trouble with. I figured that, just like in more recent versions of macOS, I could enable the presence of Homebrew by simply adding its installation directory to the $PATH variable in .bash_profile. On Sonoma, it's /opt/homebrew. On Catalina and earlier, it's /usr/local/bin.

For the user I was having trouble ssh'ing into, I had omitted appending /usr/local/bin from $PATH, intending to eliminate any Homebrew software from the mix.

I was wrong. It turns out that the system - that is, macOS - prepends /usr/local/bin to $PATH automatically.

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin

Furthermore, when I recently ran brew upgrade, it upgraded openssl:

$ /usr/bin/openssl version
LibreSSL 2.8.3
$ /usr/local/bin/openssl version
OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024 (Library: OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024)

So all along, every SSH user on my Catalina has been accessing OpenSSL provided by Homebrew, and it was recently updated. I don't know precisely how this changed the way SSH worked, but it seems very likely that a recent Homebrew upgrade was somehow responsible for this problem.

Caveat Homebrewers!

I noticed that the permissions for /Users/chap/ on the MacBook Pro (10.15.7) were 777. Changing them to 755 fixed everything.

I'm not certain when or how the permissions were changed, or what else could have changed so that these incorrect permissions were now causing public key SSH authentication to fail. The System Information Software Installation log lists nothing more recent than MacOS Catalina Security Update 2022-005, applied 8/27/2022. I log in to this machine every day, and the login failure began only several days ago.

I noticed that the permissions for /Users/chap/ on the MacBook Pro (10.15.7) were 777. Changing them to 755 fixed everything.

I'm not certain when or how the permissions were changed, or what else could have changed so that these incorrect permissions were now causing public key SSH authentication to fail. The System Information Software Installation log lists nothing more recent than MacOS Catalina Security Update 2022-005, applied 8/27/2022. I log in to this machine every day, and the login failure began only several days ago.

Update

Something did change:

I have a special, dedicated user on the Catalina machine where I run Homebrew. However, it's not the user I was having trouble with. I figured that, just like in more recent versions of macOS, I could enable the presence of Homebrew by simply adding its installation directory to the $PATH variable in .bash_profile. On Sonoma, it's /opt/homebrew. On Catalina and earlier, it's /usr/local/bin.

For the user I was having trouble ssh'ing into, I had omitted appending /usr/local/bin from $PATH, intending to eliminate any Homebrew software from the mix.

I was wrong. It turns out that the system - that is, macOS - prepends /usr/local/bin to $PATH automatically.

/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/opt/X11/bin

Furthermore, when I recently ran brew upgrade, it upgraded openssl:

$ /usr/bin/openssl version
LibreSSL 2.8.3
$ /usr/local/bin/openssl version
OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024 (Library: OpenSSL 3.2.1 30 Jan 2024)

So all along, every SSH user on my Catalina has been accessing OpenSSL provided by Homebrew, and it was recently updated. I don't know precisely how this changed the way SSH worked, but it seems very likely that a recent Homebrew upgrade was somehow responsible for this problem.

Caveat Homebrewers!

Source Link
Chap
  • 191
  • 9
Loading