Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
Copy edits.
Source Link
Giacomo1968
  • 56.2k
  • 23
  • 167
  • 214

Command Line decryption of aes-256-gcm no-longer working after opensslOpenSSL updated

Late last year (2022) I encrypted a file using opensslOpenSSL using terminal on my macMac with a very simple openssl encopenssl enc command and was able to decrypt using this command: "openssl enc -d -aes-256-gcm -in filename.lock -out filename.unlock".

openssl enc -d -aes-256-gcm -in filename.lock  -out filename.unlock

Fast forward to now (early 2024), it appears that when openssl updated I now receive an error message of "AEAD ciphers are not supported". 

After much research, I believe I understand why I'm getting this message, but not sure what to do.

Is there a way to downgrade back to an older version of openssl? I would really like access back to this file. Thank you in advance for your help!

 

UPDATEUpdate: Something I found in the comments of another postanother post on Stack Overflow may be a similar situation (https://stackoverflow.com/a/60805142/23188637). The user said they were "I am using OpenSSL version of OpenSSL 1.1.1c and by using LibreSSL I am able encrypt and decrypt":

"I am using OpenSSL version of OpenSSL 1.1.1c and by using LibreSSL I am able encrypt and decrypt"

Command Line decryption of aes-256-gcm no-longer working after openssl updated

Late last year (2022) I encrypted a file using openssl using terminal on my mac with a very simple openssl enc command and was able to decrypt using this command: "openssl enc -d -aes-256-gcm -in filename.lock -out filename.unlock".

Fast forward to now (early 2024), it appears that when openssl updated I now receive an error message of "AEAD ciphers are not supported". After much research, I believe I understand why I'm getting this message, but not sure what to do.

Is there a way to downgrade back to an older version of openssl? I would really like access back to this file. Thank you in advance for your help!

UPDATE: Something I found in the comments of another post may be a similar situation (https://stackoverflow.com/a/60805142/23188637). The user said they were "I am using OpenSSL version of OpenSSL 1.1.1c and by using LibreSSL I am able encrypt and decrypt"

Command Line decryption of aes-256-gcm no-longer working after OpenSSL updated

Late last year (2022) I encrypted a file using OpenSSL using terminal on my Mac with a very simple openssl enc command and was able to decrypt using this command:

openssl enc -d -aes-256-gcm -in filename.lock  -out filename.unlock

Fast forward to now (early 2024), it appears that when openssl updated I now receive an error message of "AEAD ciphers are not supported". 

After much research, I believe I understand why I'm getting this message, but not sure what to do.

Is there a way to downgrade back to an older version of openssl? I would really like access back to this file. Thank you in advance for your help!

 

Update: Something I found in the comments of another post on Stack Overflow may be a similar situation. The user said they were:

"I am using OpenSSL version of OpenSSL 1.1.1c and by using LibreSSL I am able encrypt and decrypt"

added 260 characters in body
Source Link

Late last year (2022) I encrypted a file using openssl using terminal on my mac with a very simple openssl enc command and was able to decrypt using this command: "openssl enc -d -aes-256-gcm -in filename.lock -out filename.unlock".

Fast forward to now (early 2024), it appears that when openssl updated I now receive an error message of "AEAD ciphers are not supported". After much research, I believe I understand why I'm getting this message, but not sure what to do.

Is there a way to downgrade back to an older version of openssl? I would really like access back to this file. Thank you in advance for your help!

UPDATE: Something I found in the comments of another post may be a similar situation (https://stackoverflow.com/a/60805142/23188637). The user said they were "I am using OpenSSL version of OpenSSL 1.1.1c and by using LibreSSL I am able encrypt and decrypt"

Late last year (2022) I encrypted a file using openssl using terminal on my mac with a very simple openssl enc command and was able to decrypt using this command: "openssl enc -d -aes-256-gcm -in filename.lock -out filename.unlock".

Fast forward to now (early 2024), it appears that when openssl updated I now receive an error message of "AEAD ciphers are not supported". After much research, I believe I understand why I'm getting this message, but not sure what to do.

Is there a way to downgrade back to an older version of openssl? I would really like access back to this file. Thank you in advance for your help!

Late last year (2022) I encrypted a file using openssl using terminal on my mac with a very simple openssl enc command and was able to decrypt using this command: "openssl enc -d -aes-256-gcm -in filename.lock -out filename.unlock".

Fast forward to now (early 2024), it appears that when openssl updated I now receive an error message of "AEAD ciphers are not supported". After much research, I believe I understand why I'm getting this message, but not sure what to do.

Is there a way to downgrade back to an older version of openssl? I would really like access back to this file. Thank you in advance for your help!

UPDATE: Something I found in the comments of another post may be a similar situation (https://stackoverflow.com/a/60805142/23188637). The user said they were "I am using OpenSSL version of OpenSSL 1.1.1c and by using LibreSSL I am able encrypt and decrypt"

Source Link

Command Line decryption of aes-256-gcm no-longer working after openssl updated

Late last year (2022) I encrypted a file using openssl using terminal on my mac with a very simple openssl enc command and was able to decrypt using this command: "openssl enc -d -aes-256-gcm -in filename.lock -out filename.unlock".

Fast forward to now (early 2024), it appears that when openssl updated I now receive an error message of "AEAD ciphers are not supported". After much research, I believe I understand why I'm getting this message, but not sure what to do.

Is there a way to downgrade back to an older version of openssl? I would really like access back to this file. Thank you in advance for your help!