Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Not true, they are different, independent methods. For your information: the OP has solved the problem but neglected to post a proper answer. See the revision history and comments under the question. Commented Dec 22, 2023 at 20:31
  • I’ve been posting this answer when I had the problem myself and this was the fix. I hope to save one hour to whoever arrives here after failing trying other solutions. Getting unlikes will just hide one of the possible answers from those needing it.
    – Jorj
    Commented Dec 24, 2023 at 19:19
  • PasswordAuthentication yes should work, so maybe you have PasswordAuthentication no earlier in the file. IMO advising KbdInteractiveAuthentication yes because allegedly "PasswordAuthentication is not enough" without any explanation or insight is voodoo. "Do this. Period." is not a good answer, it's mediocre at best. "Do this. [False statement here]." is worse, even if it "works". The point is we should not promote voodoo. If the answer shows insight then I will revoke my downvote. Commented Dec 24, 2023 at 19:45
  • Right. There is a teacher for every student. I have limited knowledge about this, so my answer is the best I could provide. Ps. i DID have PasswordAuthentication yes and it made no difference, against all readings I could find.
    – Jorj
    Commented Dec 25, 2023 at 20:54