Skip to main content
edited body
Source Link
conectionist
  • 193
  • 1
  • 2
  • 7


I have a Windows/Linux dual-boot system on a 1TB SSD.
I want to move my Windows to a separate (256 GB) SSD and keep Linux on the 1TB SSD.
I've found several articles explaining how to move entire disks or partitions in single-boot, but very few when it comes "divorcing" a dual-boot system as I've described.
My main concerns/dilemmas are the following:
  1. I only have a C: partition on Windows, but during installation Windows creates additional 1-2 partitions (for whatever reasons). My concern is that I might mess up these partitions during migration (forget to copy them , copy them in the wrong order, etc.)
  2. If I move Windows to another disk, the boot manager will need to be updated to know the new location of Windows. Is this a complicated process?

As mentioned above I haven't managed to find any good article that describes my exact use-case. The few bits of information I've found were either incomplete or not really up-to-date.

Can anyone point to a good location (article, video, etc.)?
Or explain how to do this... (step-by-step)

Thanks!

Edit: This is what my disk looks like:

Disks (Linux)

Disk Management(Windows)Disk Management(Windows)



I have a Windows/Linux dual-boot system on a 1TB SSD.
I want to move my Windows to a separate (256 GB) SSD and keep Linux on the 1TB SSD.
I've found several articles explaining how to move entire disks or partitions in single-boot, but very few when it comes "divorcing" a dual-boot system as I've described.
My main concerns/dilemmas are the following:
  1. I only have a C: partition on Windows, but during installation Windows creates additional 1-2 partitions (for whatever reasons). My concern is that I might mess up these partitions during migration (forget to copy them , copy them in the wrong order, etc.)
  2. If I move Windows to another disk, the boot manager will need to be updated to know the new location of Windows. Is this a complicated process?

As mentioned above I haven't managed to find any good article that describes my exact use-case. The few bits of information I've found were either incomplete or not really up-to-date.

Can anyone point to a good location (article, video, etc.)?
Or explain how to do this... (step-by-step)

Thanks!

Edit: This is what my disk looks like:

Disks (Linux)

Disk Management(Windows)



I have a Windows/Linux dual-boot system on a 1TB SSD.
I want to move my Windows to a separate (256 GB) SSD and keep Linux on the 1TB SSD.
I've found several articles explaining how to move entire disks or partitions in single-boot, but very few when it comes "divorcing" a dual-boot system as I've described.
My main concerns/dilemmas are the following:
  1. I only have a C: partition on Windows, but during installation Windows creates additional 1-2 partitions (for whatever reasons). My concern is that I might mess up these partitions during migration (forget to copy them , copy them in the wrong order, etc.)
  2. If I move Windows to another disk, the boot manager will need to be updated to know the new location of Windows. Is this a complicated process?

As mentioned above I haven't managed to find any good article that describes my exact use-case. The few bits of information I've found were either incomplete or not really up-to-date.

Can anyone point to a good location (article, video, etc.)?
Or explain how to do this... (step-by-step)

Thanks!

Edit: This is what my disk looks like:

Disks (Linux)

Disk Management(Windows)

added 85 characters in body
Source Link
conectionist
  • 193
  • 1
  • 2
  • 7


I have a Windows/Linux dual-boot system on a 1TB SSD.
I want to move my Windows to a separate (256 GB) SSD and keep Linux on the 1TB SSD.
I've found several articles explaining how to move entire disks or partitions in single-boot, but very few when it comes "divorcing" a dual-boot system as I've described.
My main concerns/dilemmas are the following:
  1. I only have a C: partition on Windows, but during installation Windows creates additional 1-2 partitions (for whatever reasons). My concern is that I might mess up these partitions during migration (forget to copy them , copy them in the wrong order, etc.)
  2. If I move Windows to another disk, the boot manager will need to be updated to know the new location of Windows. Is this a complicated process?

As mentioned above I haven't managed to find any good article that describes my exact use-case. The few bits of information I've found were either incomplete or not really up-to-date.

Can anyone point to a good location (article, video, etc.)?
Or explain how to do this... (step-by-step)

Thanks!

Edit: This is what my disk looks like:

Disks (Linux)

Disk Management(Windows)



I have a Windows/Linux dual-boot system on a 1TB SSD.
I want to move my Windows to a separate (256 GB) SSD and keep Linux on the 1TB SSD.
I've found several articles explaining how to move entire disks or partitions in single-boot, but very few when it comes "divorcing" a dual-boot system as I've described.
My main concerns/dilemmas are the following:
  1. I only have a C: partition on Windows, but during installation Windows creates additional 1-2 partitions (for whatever reasons). My concern is that I might mess up these partitions during migration (forget to copy them , copy them in the wrong order, etc.)
  2. If I move Windows to another disk, the boot manager will need to be updated to know the new location of Windows. Is this a complicated process?

As mentioned above I haven't managed to find any good article that describes my exact use-case. The few bits of information I've found were either incomplete or not really up-to-date.

Can anyone point to a good location (article, video, etc.)?
Or explain how to do this... (step-by-step)

Thanks!

Edit: This is what my disk looks like:

Disks (Linux)



I have a Windows/Linux dual-boot system on a 1TB SSD.
I want to move my Windows to a separate (256 GB) SSD and keep Linux on the 1TB SSD.
I've found several articles explaining how to move entire disks or partitions in single-boot, but very few when it comes "divorcing" a dual-boot system as I've described.
My main concerns/dilemmas are the following:
  1. I only have a C: partition on Windows, but during installation Windows creates additional 1-2 partitions (for whatever reasons). My concern is that I might mess up these partitions during migration (forget to copy them , copy them in the wrong order, etc.)
  2. If I move Windows to another disk, the boot manager will need to be updated to know the new location of Windows. Is this a complicated process?

As mentioned above I haven't managed to find any good article that describes my exact use-case. The few bits of information I've found were either incomplete or not really up-to-date.

Can anyone point to a good location (article, video, etc.)?
Or explain how to do this... (step-by-step)

Thanks!

Edit: This is what my disk looks like:

Disks (Linux)

Disk Management(Windows)

added 119 characters in body
Source Link
conectionist
  • 193
  • 1
  • 2
  • 7


I have a Windows/Linux dual-boot system on a 1TB SSD.
I want to move my Windows to a separate (256 GB) SSD and keep Linux on the 1TB SSD.
I've found several articles explaining how to move entire disks or partitions in single-boot, but very few when it comes "divorcing" a dual-boot system as I've described.
My main concerns/dilemmas are the following:
  1. I only have a C: partition on Windows, but during installation Windows creates additional 1-2 partitions (for whatever reasons). My concern is that I might mess up these partitions during migration (forget to copy them , copy them in the wrong order, etc.)
  2. If I move Windows to another disk, the boot manager will need to be updated to know the new location of Windows. Is this a complicated process?

As mentioned above I haven't managed to find any good article that describes my exact use-case. The few bits of information I've found were either incomplete or not really up-to-date.

Can anyone point to a good location (article, video, etc.)?
Or explain how to do this... (step-by-step)

Thanks!

Edit: This is what my disk looks like:

Disks (Linux)



I have a Windows/Linux dual-boot system on a 1TB SSD.
I want to move my Windows to a separate (256 GB) SSD and keep Linux on the 1TB SSD.
I've found several articles explaining how to move entire disks or partitions in single-boot, but very few when it comes "divorcing" a dual-boot system as I've described.
My main concerns/dilemmas are the following:
  1. I only have a C: partition on Windows, but during installation Windows creates additional 1-2 partitions (for whatever reasons). My concern is that I might mess up these partitions during migration (forget to copy them , copy them in the wrong order, etc.)
  2. If I move Windows to another disk, the boot manager will need to be updated to know the new location of Windows. Is this a complicated process?

As mentioned above I haven't managed to find any good article that describes my exact use-case. The few bits of information I've found were either incomplete or not really up-to-date.

Can anyone point to a good location (article, video, etc.)?
Or explain how to do this... (step-by-step)

Thanks!



I have a Windows/Linux dual-boot system on a 1TB SSD.
I want to move my Windows to a separate (256 GB) SSD and keep Linux on the 1TB SSD.
I've found several articles explaining how to move entire disks or partitions in single-boot, but very few when it comes "divorcing" a dual-boot system as I've described.
My main concerns/dilemmas are the following:
  1. I only have a C: partition on Windows, but during installation Windows creates additional 1-2 partitions (for whatever reasons). My concern is that I might mess up these partitions during migration (forget to copy them , copy them in the wrong order, etc.)
  2. If I move Windows to another disk, the boot manager will need to be updated to know the new location of Windows. Is this a complicated process?

As mentioned above I haven't managed to find any good article that describes my exact use-case. The few bits of information I've found were either incomplete or not really up-to-date.

Can anyone point to a good location (article, video, etc.)?
Or explain how to do this... (step-by-step)

Thanks!

Edit: This is what my disk looks like:

Disks (Linux)

Source Link
conectionist
  • 193
  • 1
  • 2
  • 7
Loading