Skip to main content
added 5 characters in body
Source Link
End Antisemitic Hate
  • 8.5k
  • 35
  • 85
  • 138

I have an Intel OMEN laptop. It has horrible battery life (likeabout 2h45m) because it's a high-performance "gaming" laptop. 

I have two different uses for my laptop that are a bit opposing. For school, I need the laptop to last through as many classes as possible on battery, only doing basic things like Google Docs in Chrome. For personal use, it stays plugged in and I want as much performance as possible. My laptop has an integrated Intel GPU and a GTX 1650.

When my laptop is on battery, I want it to use the integrated GPU to save power. When it's plugged in, I want it to use the dedicated GPU for maximum performance.

I've tried messing with settings in the NVIDIA control panel, but it doesn't seem to work. I've also tried messing with my power plan but that didn't seem to affect it either. Windows GPU settings don't appear to have an option to do what I want. It seems to mostly prefer my integrated GPU but it does seem to use the dedicated GPU for a couple games.

I have an Intel OMEN laptop. It has horrible battery life (like 2h45m) because it's a high-performance "gaming" laptop. I have two different uses for my laptop that are a bit opposing. For school, I need the laptop to last through as many classes as possible on battery only doing basic things like Google Docs in Chrome. For personal use, it stays plugged in and I want as much performance as possible. My laptop has an integrated Intel GPU and a GTX 1650.

When my laptop is on battery, I want it to use the integrated GPU to save power. When it's plugged in, I want it to use the dedicated GPU for maximum performance.

I've tried messing with settings in the NVIDIA control panel, but it doesn't seem to work. I've also tried messing with my power plan but that didn't seem to affect it either. Windows GPU settings don't appear to have an option to do what I want. It seems to mostly prefer my integrated GPU but it does seem to use the dedicated GPU for a couple games.

I have an Intel OMEN laptop. It has horrible battery life (about 2h45m) because it's a high-performance "gaming" laptop. 

I have two different uses for my laptop that are a bit opposing. For school, I need the laptop to last through as many classes as possible on battery, only doing basic things like Google Docs in Chrome. For personal use, it stays plugged in and I want as much performance as possible. My laptop has an integrated Intel GPU and a GTX 1650.

When my laptop is on battery, I want it to use the integrated GPU to save power. When it's plugged in, I want it to use the dedicated GPU for maximum performance.

I've tried messing with settings in the NVIDIA control panel, but it doesn't seem to work. I've also tried messing with my power plan but that didn't seem to affect it either. Windows GPU settings don't appear to have an option to do what I want. It seems to mostly prefer my integrated GPU but it does seem to use the dedicated GPU for a couple games.

deleted 64 characters in body
Source Link
reticivis
  • 181
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8

I have an Intel OMEN laptop. It has horrible battery life (like 2h45m) because it's a high-performance "gaming" laptop. I have two different uses for my laptop that are a bit opposing. For school, I need the laptop to last through as many classes as possible on battery only doing basic things like Google Docs in Chrome. For personal use, it stays plugged in and I want as much performance as possible. My laptop has an integrated Intel GPU and a GTX 1650.

When my laptop is on battery, I want it to use the integrated GPU to save power. When it's plugged in, I want it to use the dedicated GPU for maximum performance.

I've tried messing with settings in the NVIDIA control panel, but it doesn't seem to work. I've also tried messing with my power plan but that didn't seem to affect it either. Windows GPU settings don't appear to have an option to do what I want. It seems to mostly prefer my integrated GPU but it does seem to use the dedicated GPU for a couple games.

I'm willing to use 3rd party solutions or even write my own.

I have an Intel OMEN laptop. It has horrible battery life (like 2h45m) because it's a high-performance "gaming" laptop. I have two different uses for my laptop that are a bit opposing. For school, I need the laptop to last through as many classes as possible on battery only doing basic things like Google Docs in Chrome. For personal use, it stays plugged in and I want as much performance as possible. My laptop has an integrated Intel GPU and a GTX 1650.

When my laptop is on battery, I want it to use the integrated GPU to save power. When it's plugged in, I want it to use the dedicated GPU for maximum performance.

I've tried messing with settings in the NVIDIA control panel, but it doesn't seem to work. I've also tried messing with my power plan but that didn't seem to affect it either. Windows GPU settings don't appear to have an option to do what I want. It seems to mostly prefer my integrated GPU but it does seem to use the dedicated GPU for a couple games.

I'm willing to use 3rd party solutions or even write my own.

I have an Intel OMEN laptop. It has horrible battery life (like 2h45m) because it's a high-performance "gaming" laptop. I have two different uses for my laptop that are a bit opposing. For school, I need the laptop to last through as many classes as possible on battery only doing basic things like Google Docs in Chrome. For personal use, it stays plugged in and I want as much performance as possible. My laptop has an integrated Intel GPU and a GTX 1650.

When my laptop is on battery, I want it to use the integrated GPU to save power. When it's plugged in, I want it to use the dedicated GPU for maximum performance.

I've tried messing with settings in the NVIDIA control panel, but it doesn't seem to work. I've also tried messing with my power plan but that didn't seem to affect it either. Windows GPU settings don't appear to have an option to do what I want. It seems to mostly prefer my integrated GPU but it does seem to use the dedicated GPU for a couple games.

Source Link
reticivis
  • 181
  • 1
  • 1
  • 8

Force windows laptop to always use my dedicated GPU on power and integrated GPU on battery

I have an Intel OMEN laptop. It has horrible battery life (like 2h45m) because it's a high-performance "gaming" laptop. I have two different uses for my laptop that are a bit opposing. For school, I need the laptop to last through as many classes as possible on battery only doing basic things like Google Docs in Chrome. For personal use, it stays plugged in and I want as much performance as possible. My laptop has an integrated Intel GPU and a GTX 1650.

When my laptop is on battery, I want it to use the integrated GPU to save power. When it's plugged in, I want it to use the dedicated GPU for maximum performance.

I've tried messing with settings in the NVIDIA control panel, but it doesn't seem to work. I've also tried messing with my power plan but that didn't seem to affect it either. Windows GPU settings don't appear to have an option to do what I want. It seems to mostly prefer my integrated GPU but it does seem to use the dedicated GPU for a couple games.

I'm willing to use 3rd party solutions or even write my own.