Skip to main content
11 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Nov 1, 2023 at 20:37 comment added Eric Marceau Thank you again, @Jim K. As I said before, I am just trying to use LibreOffice Calc to clarify/finalize the formulas on this simplistic model provided before I move onto the much more complex problem which is my true objective. I haven't touched this kind of statics analysis since my university days, so I am trying to brush off the dust/clutter of 45+ years to recall/refresh or relearn the math formulas/relationships and use the test case to make sure I have it all right. LibreOffice Base would never be a consideration for the "full-scale" analysis I will tackle, so no point working that.
Nov 1, 2023 at 14:30 comment added Jim K @EricMarceau: Easy — use LibreOffice Base! Like SELECT STRUT FROM STRUTS WHERE S = 'D' OR E = 'D'. Or better, get all results at once by joining two STRUTS tables against a third (aliases A, B, and C for the STRUTS table) on B.S = A.STRUT and C.E = A.STRUT. Calc does not handle relationships well, so it's not fair to expect a clean set of results. If you're set on Calc only, then the next approach I would look at is writing a Calc macro in Basic or Python. I would not recommend writing a C++ UNO service because that requires extensive makefiles for linking.
Nov 1, 2023 at 2:23 comment added Eric Marceau Thank you again, @Jim K. Is there any way to "output" nothing, i.e. not "add" empty string as a case response in an array position, thereby leaving only "real" responses in the array, which would then be limited to the size of actual data?
Nov 1, 2023 at 2:20 vote accept Eric Marceau
Oct 31, 2023 at 22:05 history edited Jim K CC BY-SA 4.0
filter
Oct 31, 2023 at 21:50 comment added Jim K @EricMarceau: See edited answer to handle that example.
Oct 31, 2023 at 21:49 history edited Jim K CC BY-SA 4.0
check column E as well
Oct 31, 2023 at 21:45 comment added Eric Marceau Is there a way to use OR to combine the results of two separate formulas in the same formula, each focusing on one of the columns "D" or "E" ? If I use a separate formula for 2 separate "arrays" (columns), is there a way to OR those two "arrays" into a single new array which has no empty cells?
Oct 31, 2023 at 21:43 comment added Eric Marceau Is it possible to have the arrays limit themselves to the size of the results, not the size of the "source" lookup "array"?
Oct 31, 2023 at 20:53 comment added Eric Marceau Thank you, @Jim K. I confirmed that works for the case of Node 4, getting 3 items ordered ascending, but if I replace the value of 4 with 3, I only get 1 result (3), when I am looking for 3 results again (should always be 3 for this geometric configuration), namely a match on "C" from columns D17:E22, which should give me 2,3 and 6. Is there a way to specify that?
Oct 31, 2023 at 15:47 history answered Jim K CC BY-SA 4.0