Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

6
  • Thanks for the suggestion. If I don't find another solution, I will try it, but by the moment I would prefer don't run third-party applications in the server. Commented Oct 18, 2023 at 9:58
  • @ÁlvaroGarcía You're welcome. I hear you as far as running third-party applications. That's very smart. Nir's applications are currently closed source, which isn't ideal, but he's been a trusted developer with an unblemished record for over 15 years. Commented Oct 18, 2023 at 10:08
  • @ÁlvaroGarcía Because I do not have the source code to review, I cannot guarantee the application is safe, but I can say in addition to Nir's excellent reputation, I have personally used that application (on non-servers) while closely monitoring its behaviours. I have never detected anything out of the ordinary. Obviously, that only means so much (especially because you don't know me), but I thought I would mention my experiences if they help you. Commented Oct 18, 2023 at 10:08
  • @ÁlvaroGarcía, it is reasonable to be wary of installing anything on a server. That said, 1. Check all software at virustotal.com/gui to have it evaluated by many anti-malware applications. 2. Having used Nirsoft utilities for a number of years, I've had no issues. 3. You do not have to install Full Event Viewer on the machine -- it can access logs over the network. Commented Oct 18, 2023 at 17:16
  • 1
    So I can do it remotely, it is a good alternative. Thanks. Commented Oct 19, 2023 at 10:17