Skip to main content
added 3 characters in body
Source Link
mbi
  • 1
  • 1

I have just recently ordered new computer parts. In the motherboard and CPU spec, only dual channel are specified. Does that mean my computer may not be able to post and boot normally because I am running it in Single-Channel and not Dual channel? I thought it would be able run in single channel, but I think I might be lacking a memory stick.

This is one 16GB stick. I already have tested the motherboard with 2x4GB sticks, but the computer did not boot with those either. Those are buffered and not unbuffered, and too slow for the CPU. 2666MHz are specified. I have tried with different kinds of setups, also a different PSU.

PSU: 350 watt

Ram sticks tested: 2133mhz Dual-Channel 2x4gb sticks DIMM

2x32gb UDIMM 3200mhz

1x16gb UDIMM 2666mhz

Motherboard: UDIMM ECC/Non-ECC, up to 2933mhz. 2DPC.

CPU: 2666mhz memory.

Neither of the RAMs are actually 100% correct according to the specifications.

But I am also wondering if getting another stick of the 1x16gb which is identical and if I could run them as Dual-Channel even if both of them are Single-Channel?

I have just recently ordered new computer parts. In the motherboard and CPU spec, only dual channel are specified. Does that mean my computer may not be able to post and boot normally because I am running it in Single-Channel and not Dual channel? I thought it would be able run in single channel, but I think I might be lacking a memory stick.

This is one 16GB stick. I already have tested the motherboard with 2x4GB sticks, but the computer did not boot with those either. Those are buffered and not unbuffered, and too slow for the CPU. 2666MHz are specified. I have tried with different kinds of setups, also a different PSU.

PSU: 350 watt

Ram sticks tested: 2133mhz Dual-Channel 2x4gb sticks DIMM

2x32gb UDIMM 3200mhz

1x16gb UDIMM 2666mhz

Motherboard: UDIMM ECC/Non-ECC, up to 2933mhz. 2DPC.

CPU: 2666mhz memory.

Neither of the RAMs are actually 100% correct according to the specifications.

But I am also wondering if getting another stick of the 1x16gb which is identical and if I could run them as Dual-Channel even if both them are Single-Channel?

I have just recently ordered new computer parts. In the motherboard and CPU spec, only dual channel are specified. Does that mean my computer may not be able to post and boot normally because I am running it in Single-Channel and not Dual channel? I thought it would be able run in single channel, but I think I might be lacking a memory stick.

This is one 16GB stick. I already have tested the motherboard with 2x4GB sticks, but the computer did not boot with those either. Those are buffered and not unbuffered, and too slow for the CPU. 2666MHz are specified. I have tried with different kinds of setups, also a different PSU.

PSU: 350 watt

Ram sticks tested: 2133mhz Dual-Channel 2x4gb sticks DIMM

2x32gb UDIMM 3200mhz

1x16gb UDIMM 2666mhz

Motherboard: UDIMM ECC/Non-ECC, up to 2933mhz. 2DPC.

CPU: 2666mhz memory.

Neither of the RAMs are actually 100% correct according to the specifications.

But I am also wondering if getting another stick of the 1x16gb which is identical and if I could run them as Dual-Channel even if both of them are Single-Channel?

added 456 characters in body
Source Link
mbi
  • 1
  • 1

I have just recently ordered new computer parts. In the motherboard and CPU spec, only dual channel are specified. Does that mean my computer may not be able to post and boot normally because I am running it in Single-Channel and not Dual channel? I thought it would be able run in single channel, but I think I might be lacking a memory stick.

This is one 16GB stick. I already have tested the motherboard with 2x4GB sticks, but the computer did not boot with those either. Those are buffered and not unbuffered, and too slow for the CPU. 2666MHz are specified. I have tried with different kinds of setups, also a different PSU.

PSU: 350 watt

Ram sticks tested: 2133mhz Dual-Channel 2x4gb sticks DIMM

2x32gb UDIMM 3200mhz

1x16gb UDIMM 2666mhz

Motherboard: UDIMM ECC/Non-ECC, up to 2933mhz. 2DPC.

CPU: 2666mhz memory.

Neither of the RAMs are actually 100% correct according to the specifications.

But I am also wondering if getting another stick of the 1x16gb which is identical and if I could run them as Dual-Channel even if both them are Single-Channel?

I have just recently ordered new computer parts. In the motherboard and CPU spec, only dual channel are specified. Does that mean my computer may not be able to post and boot normally because I am running it in Single-Channel and not Dual channel? I thought it would be able run in single channel, but I think I might be lacking a memory stick.

This is one 16GB stick. I already have tested the motherboard with 2x4GB sticks, but the computer did not boot with those either. Those are buffered and not unbuffered, and too slow for the CPU. 2666MHz are specified. I have tried with different kinds of setups, also a different PSU.

I have just recently ordered new computer parts. In the motherboard and CPU spec, only dual channel are specified. Does that mean my computer may not be able to post and boot normally because I am running it in Single-Channel and not Dual channel? I thought it would be able run in single channel, but I think I might be lacking a memory stick.

This is one 16GB stick. I already have tested the motherboard with 2x4GB sticks, but the computer did not boot with those either. Those are buffered and not unbuffered, and too slow for the CPU. 2666MHz are specified. I have tried with different kinds of setups, also a different PSU.

PSU: 350 watt

Ram sticks tested: 2133mhz Dual-Channel 2x4gb sticks DIMM

2x32gb UDIMM 3200mhz

1x16gb UDIMM 2666mhz

Motherboard: UDIMM ECC/Non-ECC, up to 2933mhz. 2DPC.

CPU: 2666mhz memory.

Neither of the RAMs are actually 100% correct according to the specifications.

But I am also wondering if getting another stick of the 1x16gb which is identical and if I could run them as Dual-Channel even if both them are Single-Channel?

edited body; edited title
Source Link
Hennes
  • 65.3k
  • 7
  • 113
  • 168

Computer not booting with Single Channelsingle RAM stick. Could Dual Channel be required?

I have just recently ordered new computer parts. In the motherboard and CPU spec, only dual channel are specified. Does that mean my computer may not be able to post and boot normally because I am running it in Single-Channel and not Dual channel? I thought it would be able run in single channel, but I think I might be lacking a memory stick.

This is one 16gb16GB stick. I already have tested the motherboard with 2x4gb2x4GB sticks, but the computer did not boot with those either. Those are buffered and not unbuffered, and too slow for the CPU. 2666mhz2666MHz are specified. I have tried with different kinds of setups, also a different PSU.

Computer not booting with Single Channel RAM stick. Could Dual Channel be required?

I have just recently ordered new computer parts. In the motherboard and CPU spec, only dual channel are specified. Does that mean my computer may not be able to post and boot normally because I am running it in Single-Channel and not Dual channel? I thought it would be able run in single channel, but I think I might be lacking a memory stick.

This is one 16gb stick. I already have tested the motherboard with 2x4gb sticks, but the computer did not boot with those either. Those are buffered and not unbuffered, and too slow for the CPU. 2666mhz are specified. I have tried with different kinds of setups, also a different PSU.

Computer not booting with single RAM stick. Could Dual Channel be required?

I have just recently ordered new computer parts. In the motherboard and CPU spec, only dual channel are specified. Does that mean my computer may not be able to post and boot normally because I am running it in Single-Channel and not Dual channel? I thought it would be able run in single channel, but I think I might be lacking a memory stick.

This is one 16GB stick. I already have tested the motherboard with 2x4GB sticks, but the computer did not boot with those either. Those are buffered and not unbuffered, and too slow for the CPU. 2666MHz are specified. I have tried with different kinds of setups, also a different PSU.

deleted 1 character in body
Source Link
mbi
  • 1
  • 1
Loading
Source Link
mbi
  • 1
  • 1
Loading