Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • 2
    You are showing linux commands. Are you running this from straight cmd.exe or using bash from a sub linux os on the system? I would however advise against associating files directly with an interpreter, it is a security risk. Instead add py.exe to path and simply run them as py blah.py
    – Gerhard
    Commented Sep 7, 2023 at 4:49
  • 1
    I'm running this from straight command - but I have spent a lot of my life in unix - so I do use unix tools. as for the security risk - I get that, but the convenience is worth it. py blah.py is not an option a) it doesn't magically work across the path, and b) when I write tools, I write them in lots of things, python is just one of them, I don't want to have to remember "was this a shell script? a batc file? a python file? an exe?"... Commented Sep 7, 2023 at 4:56
  • Are you familiar with Regedit, or does it scare you? Commented Sep 11, 2023 at 6:18
  • You may edit the extension association in the explorer, see 4 Ways to Open File Properties in Windows 10, and [Change...] the Opens with value there.
    – Wolf
    Commented Mar 19 at 12:28