Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 271 characters in body
Source Link

I've been having problems with enrolling some SAS hard drives (on a ZFS ZOL system of mine). I had an EVGA 600w power supply. I thought maybe it was that or cables. I replaced the cables, still had issues. I bought a new EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 GT, 80 Plus Gold 1300W and the problem persists. I have one 2TB SATA system drive, and trying to connect ~4 3TB SAS drives, and ~4 4TB SAS drives, 9 Drives total.

The HBA Card is 01:00.0 Serial Attached SCSI controller: Broadcom / LSI SAS2008 PCI-Express Fusion-MPT SAS-2 [Falcon] (rev 03) but is most likely irrelevant to this situation, since this problem is really about not enough power to the drives from what I can tell.

The 3TB SAS drives have no problems connecting to the SATA power ports on the new PSU. However, I am replacing the 3TB drives with Dell 0F9W8 EMC MG04SCA40EN4TB Drives (Toshiba). For the most part, the 4TB SAS drives will NOT enroll using the SATA connectors on the PSU. They do however work on the Molex connectors. I would obviously like them to work straight from the SATA cables without using any kind of adapters.

I have tested the cables as best as I can, multimeter probing the metal contacts where the wires go into the SATA connector (don't have an official tester, and didn't probe into the actual SATA pins), and they seem well. I also have swapped the 4 triple SATA cables in the modular PSU, amongst the 4 ports. I also swapped the SAS connector from correctly enrolled 3TB drives, to 4TB drives which wont enroll. This test leaves the power connector still connected to the SAS connector, never taking it off, proving that there's an issue powering the 4TB drives.

The conclusion is, the 3TB drives will work fine on all the SATA ports, but the 4TB drives only enroll using the Molex to SATA adapter cable ran off the Molex power cables, but will not run off the default SATA connectors.

There is 12 Sata connectors on this PSU. I think iI was able to get one (only) 4tb drive to enroll from one of the SATA ports, but not the rest.

Is there something inherent in these drives where the PSU's SATA cables (with their 3,5,12V terminals) don't need the 3v connections that the SATA ports have in addition that the MOlex don't have?

E>g. its almost as if hooking up a working 3,5,12 cable (PSU's default SATA cable) fails, where a 5,12 (from Molex adapted SATA cable ) doesn't.

This is really confusing.

Could this be bad cables even though swapping the drives shows the cables are working (atleastat least on the 3TB SAS drives)? Or is there a problem with the drives and I just need to stick to adapted Molex->SATA power? Or is this PSU crap, and cant handle the extra load?

Very confused on this one.

It's also disappointing because I got this PSU because it has 12 SATA connectors across 4 busses.

Can someone recommend some testing procedures, or advice on these specific drives if I'm missing something?

I've been having problems with enrolling some SAS hard drives (on a ZFS ZOL system of mine). I had an EVGA 600w power supply. I thought maybe it was that or cables. I replaced the cables, still had issues. I bought a new EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 GT, 80 Plus Gold 1300W and the problem persists. I have one 2TB SATA system drive, and trying to connect ~4 3TB SAS drives, and ~4 4TB SAS drives, 9 Drives total.

The 3TB SAS drives have no problems connecting to the SATA power ports on the new PSU. However, I am replacing the 3TB drives with Dell 0F9W8 EMC MG04SCA40EN4TB Drives (Toshiba). For the most part, the 4TB SAS drives will NOT enroll using the SATA connectors on the PSU. They do however work on the Molex connectors. I would obviously like them to work straight from the SATA cables without using any kind of adapters.

I have tested the cables as best as I can, multimeter probing the metal contacts where the wires go into the SATA connector (don't have an official tester, and didn't probe into the actual SATA pins), and they seem well. I also have swapped the 4 triple SATA cables in the modular PSU, amongst the 4 ports. I also swapped the SAS connector from correctly enrolled 3TB drives, to 4TB drives which wont enroll. This test leaves the power connector still connected to the SAS connector, never taking it off, proving that there's an issue powering the 4TB drives.

The conclusion is, the 3TB drives will work fine on all the SATA ports, but the 4TB drives only enroll using the Molex to SATA adapter cable ran off the Molex power cables, but will not run off the default SATA connectors.

There is 12 Sata connectors on this PSU. I think i was able to get one (only) 4tb drive to enroll from one of the SATA ports, but not the rest.

Is there something inherent in these drives where the PSU's SATA cables (with their 3,5,12V terminals) don't need the 3v connections that the SATA ports have in addition that the MOlex don't have?

E>g. its almost as if hooking up a working 3,5,12 cable (PSU's default SATA cable) fails, where a 5,12 (from Molex adapted SATA cable ) doesn't.

This is really confusing.

Could this be bad cables even though swapping the drives shows the cables are working (atleast on the 3TB SAS drives)? Or is there a problem with the drives and I just need to stick to adapted Molex->SATA power? Or is this PSU crap, and cant handle the extra load?

Very confused on this one.

It's also disappointing because I got this PSU because it has 12 SATA connectors across 4 busses.

Can someone recommend some testing procedures, or advice on these specific drives if I'm missing something?

I've been having problems with enrolling some SAS hard drives (on a ZFS ZOL system of mine). I had an EVGA 600w power supply. I thought maybe it was that or cables. I replaced the cables, still had issues. I bought a new EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 GT, 80 Plus Gold 1300W and the problem persists. I have one 2TB SATA system drive, and trying to connect ~4 3TB SAS drives, and ~4 4TB SAS drives, 9 Drives total.

The HBA Card is 01:00.0 Serial Attached SCSI controller: Broadcom / LSI SAS2008 PCI-Express Fusion-MPT SAS-2 [Falcon] (rev 03) but is most likely irrelevant to this situation, since this problem is really about not enough power to the drives from what I can tell.

The 3TB SAS drives have no problems connecting to the SATA power ports on the new PSU. However, I am replacing the 3TB drives with Dell 0F9W8 EMC MG04SCA40EN4TB Drives (Toshiba). For the most part, the 4TB SAS drives will NOT enroll using the SATA connectors on the PSU. They do however work on the Molex connectors. I would obviously like them to work straight from the SATA cables without using any kind of adapters.

I have tested the cables as best as I can, multimeter probing the metal contacts where the wires go into the SATA connector (don't have an official tester, and didn't probe into the actual SATA pins), and they seem well. I also have swapped the 4 triple SATA cables in the modular PSU, amongst the 4 ports. I also swapped the SAS connector from correctly enrolled 3TB drives, to 4TB drives which wont enroll. This test leaves the power connector still connected to the SAS connector, never taking it off, proving that there's an issue powering the 4TB drives.

The conclusion is, the 3TB drives will work fine on all the SATA ports, but the 4TB drives only enroll using the Molex to SATA adapter cable ran off the Molex power cables, but will not run off the default SATA connectors.

There is 12 Sata connectors on this PSU. I think I was able to get one (only) 4tb drive to enroll from one of the SATA ports, but not the rest.

Is there something inherent in these drives where the PSU's SATA cables (with their 3,5,12V terminals) don't need the 3v connections that the SATA ports have in addition that the MOlex don't have?

E>g. its almost as if hooking up a working 3,5,12 cable (PSU's default SATA cable) fails, where a 5,12 (from Molex adapted SATA cable ) doesn't.

This is really confusing.

Could this be bad cables even though swapping the drives shows the cables are working (at least on the 3TB SAS drives)? Or is there a problem with the drives and I just need to stick to adapted Molex->SATA power? Or is this PSU crap, and cant handle the extra load?

Very confused on this one.

It's also disappointing because I got this PSU because it has 12 SATA connectors across 4 busses.

Can someone recommend some testing procedures, or advice on these specific drives if I'm missing something?

edited title
Link
sawdust
  • 17.9k
  • 2
  • 37
  • 49

EVGA GT1300 Wontdoesn't power 4TB Dell SAS drives from its SATA connectors, but willdoes when adapted from Molex,connected to Molex; Why?

added 165 characters in body
Source Link

I've been having problems with enrolling some SAS hard drives (on a ZFS ZOL system of mine). I had an EVGA 600w power supply. I thought maybe it was that or cables. I replaced the cables, still had issues. I bought a new EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 GT, 80 Plus Gold 1300W and the problem persists. I have one 2TB SATA system drive, and trying to connect ~4 3TB SAS drives, and ~4 4TB SAS drives, 9 Drives total.

The 3TB SAS drives have no problems connecting to the SATA power ports on the new PSU. However, I am replacing the 3TB drives with Dell 0F9W8 EMC MG04SCA40EN4TB Drives (Toshiba). For the most part, the 4TB SAS drives will NOT enroll using the SATA connectors on the PSU. They do however work on the Molex connectors. I would obviously like them to work straight from the SATA cables without using any kind of adapters.

I have tested the cables as best as I can, multimeter probing the metal contacts where the wires go into the SATA connector (don't have an official tester, and didn't probe into the actual SATA pins), and they seem well. I also have swapped the 4 triple SATA cables in the modular PSU, amongst the 4 ports. I also swapped the SAS connector from correctly enrolled 3TB drives, to 4TB drives which wont enroll. This test leaves the power connector still connected to the SAS connector, never taking it off, proving that there's an issue powering the 4TB drives.

The conclusion is, the 3TB drives will work fine on all the SATA ports, but the 4TB drives only enroll using the Molex to SATA adapter cable ran off the Molex power cables, but will not run off the default SATA connectors.

There is 12 Sata connectors on this PSU. I think i was able to get one (only) 4tb drive to enroll from one of the SATA ports, but not the rest.

Is there something inherent in these drives where the PSU's SATA cables (with their 3,5,12V terminals) don't need the 3v connections that the SATA ports have in addition that the MOlex don't have?

E>g. its almost as if hooking up a working 3,5,12 cable (PSU's default SATA cable) fails, where a 5,12 (from Molex adapted SATA cable ) doesn't.

This is really confusing.

Could this be bad cables even though swapping the drives shows the cables are working (atleast on the 3TB SAS drives)? Or is there a problem with the drives and I just need to stick to adapted Molex->SATA power? Or is this PSU crap, and cant handle the extra load?

Very confused on this one.

ITsIt's also dissapointingdisappointing because I got this PSU because it has 12 SATA connectors across 4 busses.

Can someone recommend some testing procedures, or advice on these specific drives if I'm missing something?

I've been having problems with enrolling some SAS hard drives (on a ZFS ZOL system of mine). I had an EVGA 600w power supply. I thought maybe it was that or cables. I replaced the cables, still had issues. I bought a new EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 GT, 80 Plus Gold 1300W and the problem persists. I have one 2TB SATA system drive, and trying to connect ~4 3TB SAS drives, and ~4 4TB SAS drives, 9 Drives total.

The 3TB SAS drives have no problems connecting to the SATA power ports on the new PSU. However, I am replacing the 3TB drives with Dell 0F9W8 EMC MG04SCA40EN4TB Drives (Toshiba). For the most part, the 4TB SAS drives will NOT enroll using the SATA connectors on the PSU. They do however work on the Molex connectors. I would obviously like them to work straight from the SATA cables without using any kind of adapters.

I have tested the cables as best as I can, multimeter probing the metal contacts where the wires go into the SATA connector (don't have an official tester, and didn't probe into the actual SATA pins), and they seem well. I also have swapped the 4 triple SATA cables in the modular PSU, amongst the 4 ports. I also swapped the SAS connector from correctly enrolled 3TB drives, to 4TB drives which wont enroll. This test leaves the power connector still connected to the SAS connector, never taking it off, proving that there's an issue powering the 4TB drives.

The conclusion is, the 3TB drives will work fine on all the SATA ports, but the 4TB drives only enroll using the Molex to SATA adapter cable ran off the Molex power cables, but will not run off the default SATA connectors.

There is 12 Sata connectors on this PSU. I think i was able to get one (only) 4tb drive to enroll from one of the SATA ports, but not the rest.

Is there something inherent in these drives where the PSU's SATA cables (with their 3,5,12V terminals) don't need the 3v connections that the SATA ports have in addition that the MOlex don't have?

E>g. its almost as if hooking up a working 3,5,12 cable (PSU's default SATA cable) fails, where a 5,12 (from Molex adapted SATA cable ) doesn't.

This is really confusing.

Could this be bad cables even though swapping the drives shows the cables are working (atleast on the 3TB SAS drives)? Or is there a problem with the drives and I just need to stick to adapted Molex->SATA power?

Very confused on this one.

ITs also dissapointing because I got this PSU because it has 12 SATA connectors across 4 busses.

I've been having problems with enrolling some SAS hard drives (on a ZFS ZOL system of mine). I had an EVGA 600w power supply. I thought maybe it was that or cables. I replaced the cables, still had issues. I bought a new EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 GT, 80 Plus Gold 1300W and the problem persists. I have one 2TB SATA system drive, and trying to connect ~4 3TB SAS drives, and ~4 4TB SAS drives, 9 Drives total.

The 3TB SAS drives have no problems connecting to the SATA power ports on the new PSU. However, I am replacing the 3TB drives with Dell 0F9W8 EMC MG04SCA40EN4TB Drives (Toshiba). For the most part, the 4TB SAS drives will NOT enroll using the SATA connectors on the PSU. They do however work on the Molex connectors. I would obviously like them to work straight from the SATA cables without using any kind of adapters.

I have tested the cables as best as I can, multimeter probing the metal contacts where the wires go into the SATA connector (don't have an official tester, and didn't probe into the actual SATA pins), and they seem well. I also have swapped the 4 triple SATA cables in the modular PSU, amongst the 4 ports. I also swapped the SAS connector from correctly enrolled 3TB drives, to 4TB drives which wont enroll. This test leaves the power connector still connected to the SAS connector, never taking it off, proving that there's an issue powering the 4TB drives.

The conclusion is, the 3TB drives will work fine on all the SATA ports, but the 4TB drives only enroll using the Molex to SATA adapter cable ran off the Molex power cables, but will not run off the default SATA connectors.

There is 12 Sata connectors on this PSU. I think i was able to get one (only) 4tb drive to enroll from one of the SATA ports, but not the rest.

Is there something inherent in these drives where the PSU's SATA cables (with their 3,5,12V terminals) don't need the 3v connections that the SATA ports have in addition that the MOlex don't have?

E>g. its almost as if hooking up a working 3,5,12 cable (PSU's default SATA cable) fails, where a 5,12 (from Molex adapted SATA cable ) doesn't.

This is really confusing.

Could this be bad cables even though swapping the drives shows the cables are working (atleast on the 3TB SAS drives)? Or is there a problem with the drives and I just need to stick to adapted Molex->SATA power? Or is this PSU crap, and cant handle the extra load?

Very confused on this one.

It's also disappointing because I got this PSU because it has 12 SATA connectors across 4 busses.

Can someone recommend some testing procedures, or advice on these specific drives if I'm missing something?

Source Link
Loading