Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
deleted 70 characters in body
Source Link
Ramhound
  • 43.1k
  • 35
  • 107
  • 137

sorry if this is the wrong place for this.

I am running out of space on the c drive of a shared work windows computer. I am currently running ubuntu using wsl downloaded in the c drive and I'm hoping to move it to free up some space in the drive.

If i copied the installation into a usb stick, would i be able to run this from the usb stick on the windows computer via wsl? That is, would i be able to access the linux installation virtually whilst still being booted into windows, as opposed to booting directly into linux as you can using a bootable usb.

If this is possible, would i be able to do the same on different windows PCs with wsl installed? And further, how would this effect my ability to run an ssh server from the ubuntu installation?

Thanks for any help!

sorry if this is the wrong place for this.

I am running out of space on the c drive of a shared work windows computer. I am currently running ubuntu using wsl downloaded in the c drive and I'm hoping to move it to free up some space in the drive.

If i copied the installation into a usb stick, would i be able to run this from the usb stick on the windows computer via wsl? That is, would i be able to access the linux installation virtually whilst still being booted into windows, as opposed to booting directly into linux as you can using a bootable usb.

If this is possible, would i be able to do the same on different windows PCs with wsl installed? And further, how would this effect my ability to run an ssh server from the ubuntu installation?

Thanks for any help!

I am running out of space on the c drive of a shared work windows computer. I am currently running ubuntu using wsl downloaded in the c drive and I'm hoping to move it to free up some space in the drive.

If i copied the installation into a usb stick, would i be able to run this from the usb stick on the windows computer via wsl? That is, would i be able to access the linux installation virtually whilst still being booted into windows, as opposed to booting directly into linux as you can using a bootable usb.

If this is possible, would i be able to do the same on different windows PCs with wsl installed? And further, how would this effect my ability to run an ssh server from the ubuntu installation?

Source Link

Can i transfer my wsl ubuntu installation to a usb and run it from there?

sorry if this is the wrong place for this.

I am running out of space on the c drive of a shared work windows computer. I am currently running ubuntu using wsl downloaded in the c drive and I'm hoping to move it to free up some space in the drive.

If i copied the installation into a usb stick, would i be able to run this from the usb stick on the windows computer via wsl? That is, would i be able to access the linux installation virtually whilst still being booted into windows, as opposed to booting directly into linux as you can using a bootable usb.

If this is possible, would i be able to do the same on different windows PCs with wsl installed? And further, how would this effect my ability to run an ssh server from the ubuntu installation?

Thanks for any help!