Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • Hello! Do you happen to know if this solution differs from the powershell method I mentioned in my original post? It's just, on the surface it looks very similar. Just to be clear (I tried to make sure my post was detailed, but I considered less the prospect of making that information easily understandable.. so I apologise), the file created by piping recycle.exe output to a txt file, is UTF-16 LE, without BOM. That is the format I need to convert from. When I ran powershell's get-content out-file, it was in a seperate PS1 file, your suggestion is to do it within batch without a "middle-file"?
    – bfh47
    Commented May 30, 2023 at 9:21
  • I'm only making suggestions, the decision is yours what to do.
    – harrymc
    Commented May 30, 2023 at 9:29
  • It's fair enough, no problem, I am just looking at this and it looks like something I've tried already, that's all. I am not at home currently so will only be able to try this later today. Just to clarify, you suggest running "powershell -command "command in quotes"" from cmd/batch - right? On an unrelated note - do you think it's worth me tidying up the question, and maybe opening it in stackoverflow? Is this "superuser" material or more advanced?
    – bfh47
    Commented May 30, 2023 at 9:40
  • Hey again - I found a solution: someone on stackoverflow had the exact same query many years ago, and they were recommended to use gnuwin32 ("iconv") program. I was able to successfully use this program via CMD to get the correct conversion. Would you be offended if I were to delete my thread, as I see it as absolutely redundant now...
    – bfh47
    Commented Jun 2, 2023 at 12:18
  • I won't be offended, but a thread on stackoverflow doesn't mean that your post is redundant. You should rather post here your own answer and mark it as accepted.
    – harrymc
    Commented Jun 2, 2023 at 12:29