Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
added 5 characters in body
Source Link

I have Asus PrimePRIME H570-PLUS Motherboard which have two M.2 Slot.

  1. Gen 4.0
  2. Gen 3.0

Crucial P1 SSD is already installed on Gen 3.0 (Win 10 is installed) Gen 4.0 Slot is empty. (For some reason my Crucial P1 SSD did not work on Gen 4.0 and ignored it).

Later on after couple of years I planned to upgrade my SSD so I bought a XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE (2TB) without knowing it will work or not.

I plugged it in in Gen 4.0 and guess what? It didn't work. Tried to change all the settings in bios but no luck. Then after digging deep I got to know that Gen 4.0 will not work with Core i7 10700k processor only work with 11th Gen Processor.

Now I have 2 high speed M.2 SSD

XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE (2TB)

WD Black SN850 (1TB)

and I want to completely remove the slow Crucial P1 SSD and use new M2 SSDs. One SSD as boot and other one as storage. I don't want dual boot.

How can I do that? Can I utilize PCIEX1_1, PCIEX1_2, PCIEX1_3, PCIEX16_2 empty slots? if yes then which PCIEx card I need to buy? or is there any way to use Gen 4.0 slot without Upgrading my 10th Gen Processor to 11th Gen?

Please help, Thanks in Advance.

I have Asus Prime H570 Motherboard which have two M.2 Slot.

  1. Gen 4.0
  2. Gen 3.0

Crucial P1 SSD is already installed on Gen 3.0 (Win 10 is installed) Gen 4.0 Slot is empty. (For some reason my Crucial P1 SSD did not work on Gen 4.0 and ignored it).

Later on after couple of years I planned to upgrade my SSD so I bought a XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE (2TB) without knowing it will work or not.

I plugged it in in Gen 4.0 and guess what? It didn't work. Tried to change all the settings in bios but no luck. Then after digging deep I got to know that Gen 4.0 will not work with Core i7 10700k processor only work with 11th Gen Processor.

Now I have 2 high speed M.2 SSD

XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE (2TB)

WD Black SN850 (1TB)

and I want to completely remove the slow Crucial P1 SSD and use new M2 SSDs. One SSD as boot and other one as storage. I don't want dual boot.

How can I do that? Can I utilize PCIEX1_1, PCIEX1_2, PCIEX1_3, PCIEX16_2 empty slots? if yes then which PCIEx card I need to buy? or is there any way to use Gen 4.0 slot without Upgrading my 10th Gen Processor to 11th Gen?

Please help, Thanks in Advance.

I have Asus PRIME H570-PLUS Motherboard which have two M.2 Slot.

  1. Gen 4.0
  2. Gen 3.0

Crucial P1 SSD is already installed on Gen 3.0 (Win 10 is installed) Gen 4.0 Slot is empty. (For some reason my Crucial P1 SSD did not work on Gen 4.0 and ignored it).

Later on after couple of years I planned to upgrade my SSD so I bought a XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE (2TB) without knowing it will work or not.

I plugged it in in Gen 4.0 and guess what? It didn't work. Tried to change all the settings in bios but no luck. Then after digging deep I got to know that Gen 4.0 will not work with Core i7 10700k processor only work with 11th Gen Processor.

Now I have 2 high speed M.2 SSD

XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE (2TB)

WD Black SN850 (1TB)

and I want to completely remove the slow Crucial P1 SSD and use new M2 SSDs. One SSD as boot and other one as storage. I don't want dual boot.

How can I do that? Can I utilize PCIEX1_1, PCIEX1_2, PCIEX1_3, PCIEX16_2 empty slots? if yes then which PCIEx card I need to buy? or is there any way to use Gen 4.0 slot without Upgrading my 10th Gen Processor to 11th Gen?

Please help, Thanks in Advance.

Source Link

Possible ways to connect two M.2 SSD at a time?

I have Asus Prime H570 Motherboard which have two M.2 Slot.

  1. Gen 4.0
  2. Gen 3.0

Crucial P1 SSD is already installed on Gen 3.0 (Win 10 is installed) Gen 4.0 Slot is empty. (For some reason my Crucial P1 SSD did not work on Gen 4.0 and ignored it).

Later on after couple of years I planned to upgrade my SSD so I bought a XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE (2TB) without knowing it will work or not.

I plugged it in in Gen 4.0 and guess what? It didn't work. Tried to change all the settings in bios but no luck. Then after digging deep I got to know that Gen 4.0 will not work with Core i7 10700k processor only work with 11th Gen Processor.

Now I have 2 high speed M.2 SSD

XPG GAMMIX S70 BLADE (2TB)

WD Black SN850 (1TB)

and I want to completely remove the slow Crucial P1 SSD and use new M2 SSDs. One SSD as boot and other one as storage. I don't want dual boot.

How can I do that? Can I utilize PCIEX1_1, PCIEX1_2, PCIEX1_3, PCIEX16_2 empty slots? if yes then which PCIEx card I need to buy? or is there any way to use Gen 4.0 slot without Upgrading my 10th Gen Processor to 11th Gen?

Please help, Thanks in Advance.