Skip to main content
8 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Feb 14, 2023 at 3:28 comment added Señor CMasMas @ChanganAuto , although i agree on likelihood, I have written device drivers for drives back in the ATA/ATAPI days and I assure you that assuming that it is "superfluous" is shortsighted at best. The I/O controller on an external drive has code of it's own and how that code was written is not something that anyone can predict unless they can read it. My suggestion would take the OP very little time to try. No harm, no foul.
Feb 14, 2023 at 1:05 comment added DrMoishe Pippik A few possibilities: 1. If there are many files, with a long pause between each, the disk spins down. 3. If there is one large file, the drive could overheat -- but then would take some time to cool and reconnect. 3. The USB ports tried might be just slightly underpowered -- test by using a powered hub (though a USB 3.0 port should have ample power, some may not be up to specs.
Feb 14, 2023 at 0:43 comment added ChanganAuto @SeñorCMasMas If this is happening during an active download as the OP reports your suggestion is superfluous. I also have a Toshiba drive with that annoying "power saving feature" (and it takes a few seconds to wake up and delays any reboot or shutdown) but it never spins down when in use.
Feb 14, 2023 at 0:38 comment added ChanganAuto Then it's likely a problem with the drive itself. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Occam%27s_razor
Feb 14, 2023 at 0:37 comment added Eduardo Perez @ChanganAuto Every computer I tested (even with Windows) has this problem.
Feb 13, 2023 at 23:01 comment added Señor CMasMas My "my passport" is older than yours but I too had this problem. Linux and Windows. Also would spin down completely after no use and the whole machine would hang when attempting to spin back up. These problems were related to the internal power management on the drive's board (by design, not an error with my model or hardware). I myself got around it by writing myself a service that pinged the drive every 5 or so seconds but checking the directory at the root of the file system. Just for fun, try writing a cron job that does an ls on it every X seconds and see if it solves it.
Feb 13, 2023 at 21:14 comment added ChanganAuto Have you confirmed the drive works as it should in another computer and preferably with a different OS (e.g. Windows)? And which file system is in the drive?
Feb 13, 2023 at 20:52 history asked Eduardo Perez CC BY-SA 4.0