Skip to main content
14 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Apr 12 at 4:10 comment added Xen2050 +1 This is still an excellent way to get a more exact time stamp at a (paused) time, just what I was looking for. Works for Debian 12 & VLC 3.0.xx. And FYI the bug mentioned above was only related to loading bookmarks, creating a new bookmark always & still does worked well, and the bug was fixed 9 years ago anyway.
Apr 12 at 4:03 history edited Xen2050 CC BY-SA 4.0
Added info & screenshot for VLC 3.0.20 on Debian 12 based OS
Feb 3, 2023 at 5:34 comment added haridsv Yes, I noticed it, but I think it is only referring to loading them back from the m3u file. However loading worked fine for me, perhaps the doc is outdated. On viewing the milliseconds, it looks like I misunderstood your requirement, I thought you were looking for a way to get the timestamp of a position with millisecond accuracy for external use, because that was exactly what I was looking for when I found your question. I hope this solution will still be of use for others.
Feb 2, 2023 at 18:08 comment added barlop The first sentence of the article you link to says loading bookmarks is broken and last worked in version 0.8!! Anyhow, what you are describing isn't viewing milliseconds while a video plays It's just setting up an accurate bookmark
Feb 2, 2023 at 10:23 comment added haridsv BTW, per this official doc, bookmarks should be a built-in feature: wiki.videolan.org/VLC_HowTo/Save_bookmarks
Feb 2, 2023 at 10:16 history edited haridsv CC BY-SA 4.0
added 25 characters in body
Feb 2, 2023 at 6:53 comment added haridsv Added screenshots per request as an update.
Feb 2, 2023 at 6:52 history edited haridsv CC BY-SA 4.0
Added more screenshots.
Feb 1, 2023 at 13:15 comment added barlop It could be that what you are opening there isn't VLC at all, but an osx bookmark manager simplehelp.net/2020/02/11/how-to-add-bookmarks-to-a-video i'm not sure if that bookmark window is something with VLC or not. It might be an OSX thing that interacts with VLC. Anyhow, as mentioned, screenshots would help .
Feb 1, 2023 at 13:13 comment added barlop I know with OSX there's one menu at the top a general one and it changes depending on what application is active. So maybe VLC on osx has a "window" menu particular to it. But it'd help if you included a screenshot
Feb 1, 2023 at 13:07 comment added barlop Win7, but VLC on win10 would be same. It'd be more useful if u included a screenshot showing where it says Window, so we can see what other items there are alongside that menu option. Look here I just looked for an img of VLC on google images en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VLC_media_player#/media/… and I don't see "Window". Can u include a screenshot like I did in my first comment? And btw this is the window menu on OSX images.macworld.co.uk/cmsdata/features/3624124/…
Feb 1, 2023 at 10:05 comment added haridsv I am using 3.0.17.3 on Mac and I see Bookmarks under the top level menu called Window. What OS are you using?
Jan 31, 2023 at 21:01 comment added barlop where is window..bookmarks?! Not in VLC 3.0.11 i.sstatic.net/Wt8Zw.png
Jan 31, 2023 at 13:54 history answered haridsv CC BY-SA 4.0