Skip to main content
Typo
Source Link
Horst Walter
  • 2k
  • 9
  • 32
  • 54

How can I rename the CORSAIR HS70 device, I want to get rid of the prefix ""2-2"". I have searched the registry and replaced all strings alike, but the ""2-2"" seems to come back. After changing the registry I made sure the strings with ""2-2"" are all replaced by searching again.

Via properties I can rename the 1st line saying "Headset Earphone CORSAIR", but NOT the line below "2-CORSAIR ...". Some programs rely on the driver name (2nd line), that is why I want to change it. The "2" came up when I had to change the USB port.

Prefix Sound device

Here for instance the name seems to be restored with ""2-2"" after a restart.

Registry

In the device manager it has no ""2-2"".

Device manager

How can I rename the CORSAIR HS70 device, I want to get rid of the prefix "-2". I have searched the registry and replaced all strings alike, but the "-2" seems to come back. After changing the registry I made sure the strings with "-2" are all replaced by searching again.

Via properties I can rename the 1st line saying "Headset Earphone CORSAIR", but NOT the line below "2-CORSAIR ...". Some programs rely on the driver name (2nd line), that is why I want to change it. The "2" came up when I had to change the USB port.

Prefix Sound device

Here for instance the name seems to be restored with "-2" after a restart.

Registry

In the device manager it has no "-2".

Device manager

How can I rename the CORSAIR HS70 device, I want to get rid of the prefix "2-". I have searched the registry and replaced all strings alike, but the "2-" seems to come back. After changing the registry I made sure the strings with "2-" are all replaced by searching again.

Via properties I can rename the 1st line saying "Headset Earphone CORSAIR", but NOT the line below "2-CORSAIR ...". Some programs rely on the driver name (2nd line), that is why I want to change it. The "2" came up when I had to change the USB port.

Prefix Sound device

Here for instance the name seems to be restored with "2-" after a restart.

Registry

In the device manager it has no "2-".

Device manager

Updated question to make clear it is about USB
Link
Horst Walter
  • 2k
  • 9
  • 32
  • 54

How can I rename a USB sound device (headphone) in Windows Sound settings?

3rd screenshot for device manager
Source Link
Horst Walter
  • 2k
  • 9
  • 32
  • 54

How can I rename the CORSAIR HS70 device, I want to get rid of the prefix "-2". I have searched the registry and replaced all strings alike, but the "-2" seems to come back. After changing the registry I made sure the strings with "-2" are all replaced by searching again.

Via properties I can rename the 1st line saying "Headset Earphone CORSAIR", but NOT the line below "2-Corsair"CORSAIR .

 ..". Some programs rely on the driver name (2nd line), that is why I want to change it. The "2" came up when I had to change the USB port.

Prefix Sound device

Here for instance the name seems to be restored with "-2" after a restart.

Registry

In the device manager it has no "-2".

Device manager

How can I rename the CORSAIR HS70 device, I want to get rid of the prefix "-2". I have searched the registry and replaced all strings alike, but the "-2" seems to come back. After changing the registry I made sure the strings with "-2" are all replaced by searching again.

Via properties I can rename the 1st line saying "Headset Earphone CORSAIR", but NOT the line below "2-Corsair".

  Some programs rely on the driver name, that is why I want to change it. The "2" came up when I had to change the USB port.

Prefix Sound device

Here for instance the name seems to be restored with "-2" after a restart.

Registry

How can I rename the CORSAIR HS70 device, I want to get rid of the prefix "-2". I have searched the registry and replaced all strings alike, but the "-2" seems to come back. After changing the registry I made sure the strings with "-2" are all replaced by searching again.

Via properties I can rename the 1st line saying "Headset Earphone CORSAIR", but NOT the line below "2-CORSAIR ...". Some programs rely on the driver name (2nd line), that is why I want to change it. The "2" came up when I had to change the USB port.

Prefix Sound device

Here for instance the name seems to be restored with "-2" after a restart.

Registry

In the device manager it has no "-2".

Device manager

2nd screenshot
Source Link
Horst Walter
  • 2k
  • 9
  • 32
  • 54
Loading
2nd screenshot
Source Link
Horst Walter
  • 2k
  • 9
  • 32
  • 54
Loading
Source Link
Horst Walter
  • 2k
  • 9
  • 32
  • 54
Loading