Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

4
  • Yes, I could do that on the original filesystem, but there are at least 100 such files on this 300 GB filesystem and I'm not sure if customers are not referincing to those weird-encoded filenames from their database/websites. And I cannot rename it back to original, as the backup job to samba share will be run daily.
    – Marki555
    Commented Nov 21, 2022 at 9:24
  • I updated that Answer , @Marki555
    – Prem
    Commented Nov 21, 2022 at 11:06
  • Also the 2nd is just workaround as it requires the files on the original fs to be removed/renamed and as those files are not mine, I don't want to do it unless really needed. But it might be useful for others, so I upvoted the answer.
    – Marki555
    Commented Nov 21, 2022 at 12:02
  • Or you mean to backup the whole filesystem as one big zip archive? That won't work as I am running daily incremental backups via rdiff-backup tool.
    – Marki555
    Commented Nov 21, 2022 at 12:03