Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results
update
Source Link

I'm learning C and would like to use VS Code with WSL as my programming environment.

I'm using a Lenovo ThinkPad L460 running Windows 10.

I was able to install VS Code, but got the following error 0x8007000e when I tried installing WSL in PowerShell using wsl --install:

A error was encountered during installation, but installation may continue. Component: 'Ubuntu' Error Code: 0x8007000e
The requested operation is successful. Changes will not be effective until the system is rebooted.

I'm not sure what this error means. This thread says it's due to insufficient storage. I have enough (110GB) free disk space available, so I thought maybe it's complaining about my RAM (4GB)? I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this, as I'm a total noob and don't want to break anything.

I've looked into Visual Studio, but I'll be writing many small programs and don't want to create a new project for each. The other option I've come across is VirtualBox, but I've never used VM before and don't want to break anything.


EDIT: Running wsl -l -v in command prompt returns:

enter image description here


EDIT: After following the manual install steps given here, I get WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102:

WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102

My system information for Hyper-V Requirements shows:

VM Monitor Mode Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware: No
Second Level Address Translation Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection: Yes

UPDATE: Switching to WSL 1 almost worked. I was able to install Ubuntu 22.04 LTS, but got a weirdly named command prompt called "root@DESKTOP-SAM07NG" upon completion and was not asked to create a login (as shown in Step 6).

I then installed the Remote Development extension pack for VS Code as required here.

However, I was unable to open a remote folder from the WSL terminal according to Step 3:

enter image description here

The suggested workaround can be found here.

Some users had success with upgrading their gzip. I'm not sure how to check my version, (running root@DESKTOP-5AM07NG:~# gzip --version just returns -bash: /usr/bin/gzip: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error.), but I did see gzip in the list returned by apt list --upgradable. So I tried updating it with ~# sudo apt install gzip.

Retrying Step 3, I get:

enter image description here

...and VS Code launches, but no folder is opened:

enter image description here

I'm learning C and would like to use VS Code with WSL as my programming environment.

I'm using a Lenovo ThinkPad L460 running Windows 10.

I was able to install VS Code, but got the following error 0x8007000e when I tried installing WSL in PowerShell using wsl --install:

A error was encountered during installation, but installation may continue. Component: 'Ubuntu' Error Code: 0x8007000e
The requested operation is successful. Changes will not be effective until the system is rebooted.

I'm not sure what this error means. This thread says it's due to insufficient storage. I have enough (110GB) free disk space available, so I thought maybe it's complaining about my RAM (4GB)? I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this, as I'm a total noob and don't want to break anything.

I've looked into Visual Studio, but I'll be writing many small programs and don't want to create a new project for each. The other option I've come across is VirtualBox, but I've never used VM before and don't want to break anything.


EDIT: Running wsl -l -v in command prompt returns:

enter image description here


EDIT: After following the manual install steps given here, I get WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102:

WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102

My system information for Hyper-V Requirements shows:

VM Monitor Mode Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware: No
Second Level Address Translation Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection: Yes

I'm learning C and would like to use VS Code with WSL as my programming environment.

I'm using a Lenovo ThinkPad L460 running Windows 10.

I was able to install VS Code, but got the following error 0x8007000e when I tried installing WSL in PowerShell using wsl --install:

A error was encountered during installation, but installation may continue. Component: 'Ubuntu' Error Code: 0x8007000e
The requested operation is successful. Changes will not be effective until the system is rebooted.

I'm not sure what this error means. This thread says it's due to insufficient storage. I have enough (110GB) free disk space available, so I thought maybe it's complaining about my RAM (4GB)? I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this, as I'm a total noob and don't want to break anything.

I've looked into Visual Studio, but I'll be writing many small programs and don't want to create a new project for each. The other option I've come across is VirtualBox, but I've never used VM before and don't want to break anything.


EDIT: Running wsl -l -v in command prompt returns:

enter image description here


EDIT: After following the manual install steps given here, I get WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102:

WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102

My system information for Hyper-V Requirements shows:

VM Monitor Mode Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware: No
Second Level Address Translation Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection: Yes

UPDATE: Switching to WSL 1 almost worked. I was able to install Ubuntu 22.04 LTS, but got a weirdly named command prompt called "root@DESKTOP-SAM07NG" upon completion and was not asked to create a login (as shown in Step 6).

I then installed the Remote Development extension pack for VS Code as required here.

However, I was unable to open a remote folder from the WSL terminal according to Step 3:

enter image description here

The suggested workaround can be found here.

Some users had success with upgrading their gzip. I'm not sure how to check my version, (running root@DESKTOP-5AM07NG:~# gzip --version just returns -bash: /usr/bin/gzip: cannot execute binary file: Exec format error.), but I did see gzip in the list returned by apt list --upgradable. So I tried updating it with ~# sudo apt install gzip.

Retrying Step 3, I get:

enter image description here

...and VS Code launches, but no folder is opened:

enter image description here

Moved information from comments into post
Source Link
NotTheDr01ds
  • 23.6k
  • 6
  • 70
  • 112

I'm learning C and would like to use VS Code with WSL as my programming environment.

I'm using a Lenovo ThinkPad L460 running Windows 10.

I was able to install VS Code, but got the following error 0x8007000e when I tried installing WSL in PowerShell using wsl --install:

A error was encountered during installation, but installation may continue. Component: 'Ubuntu' Error Code: 0x8007000e
The requested operation is successful. Changes will not be effective until the system is rebooted.

I'm not sure what this error means. This thread says it's due to insufficient storage. I have enough (110GB) free disk space available, so I thought maybe it's complaining about my RAM (4GB)? I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this, as I'm a total noob and don't want to break anything.

I've looked into Visual Studio, but I'll be writing many small programs and don't want to create a new project for each. The other option I've come across is VirtualBox, but I've never used VM before and don't want to break anything.


EDIT: Running wsl -l -v in command prompt returns:

enter image description here


EDIT: After following the manual install steps given here, I get WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102:

WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102

My system information for Hyper-V Requirements shows:

VM Monitor Mode Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware: No
Second Level Address Translation Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection: Yes

I'm learning C and would like to use VS Code with WSL as my programming environment.

I'm using a Lenovo ThinkPad L460 running Windows 10.

I was able to install VS Code, but got the following error 0x8007000e when I tried installing WSL in PowerShell using wsl --install:

A error was encountered during installation, but installation may continue. Component: 'Ubuntu' Error Code: 0x8007000e
The requested operation is successful. Changes will not be effective until the system is rebooted.

I'm not sure what this error means. This thread says it's due to insufficient storage. I have enough (110GB) free disk space available, so I thought maybe it's complaining about my RAM (4GB)? I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this, as I'm a total noob and don't want to break anything.

I've looked into Visual Studio, but I'll be writing many small programs and don't want to create a new project for each. The other option I've come across is VirtualBox, but I've never used VM before and don't want to break anything.


EDIT: Running wsl -l -v in command prompt returns:

enter image description here


EDIT: After following the manual install steps given here, I get WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102:

WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102

I'm learning C and would like to use VS Code with WSL as my programming environment.

I'm using a Lenovo ThinkPad L460 running Windows 10.

I was able to install VS Code, but got the following error 0x8007000e when I tried installing WSL in PowerShell using wsl --install:

A error was encountered during installation, but installation may continue. Component: 'Ubuntu' Error Code: 0x8007000e
The requested operation is successful. Changes will not be effective until the system is rebooted.

I'm not sure what this error means. This thread says it's due to insufficient storage. I have enough (110GB) free disk space available, so I thought maybe it's complaining about my RAM (4GB)? I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this, as I'm a total noob and don't want to break anything.

I've looked into Visual Studio, but I'll be writing many small programs and don't want to create a new project for each. The other option I've come across is VirtualBox, but I've never used VM before and don't want to break anything.


EDIT: Running wsl -l -v in command prompt returns:

enter image description here


EDIT: After following the manual install steps given here, I get WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102:

WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102

My system information for Hyper-V Requirements shows:

VM Monitor Mode Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware: No
Second Level Address Translation Extensions: Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection: Yes
added 325 characters in body
Source Link

I'm learning C and would like to use VS Code with WSL as my programming environment.

I'm using a Lenovo ThinkPad L460 running Windows 10.

I was able to install VS Code, but got the following error 0x8007000e when I tried installing WSL in PowerShell using wsl --install:

A error was encountered during installation, but installation may continue. Component: 'Ubuntu' Error Code: 0x8007000e
The requested operation is successful. Changes will not be effective until the system is rebooted.

I'm not sure what this error means. This thread says it's due to insufficient storage. I have enough (110GB) free disk space available, so I thought maybe it's complaining about my RAM (4GB)? I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this, as I'm a total noob and don't want to break anything.

I've looked into Visual Studio, but I'll be writing many small programs and don't want to create a new project for each. The other option I've come across is VirtualBox, but I've never used VM before and don't want to break anything.


EDIT: Running wsl -l -v in command prompt returns:

enter image description here


EDIT: After following the manual install steps given here, I get WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102:

WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102

I'm learning C and would like to use VS Code with WSL as my programming environment.

I'm using a Lenovo ThinkPad L460 running Windows 10.

I was able to install VS Code, but got the following error 0x8007000e when I tried installing WSL in PowerShell using wsl --install:

A error was encountered during installation, but installation may continue. Component: 'Ubuntu' Error Code: 0x8007000e
The requested operation is successful. Changes will not be effective until the system is rebooted.

I'm not sure what this error means. This thread says it's due to insufficient storage. I have enough (110GB) free disk space available, so I thought maybe it's complaining about my RAM (4GB)? I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this, as I'm a total noob and don't want to break anything.

I've looked into Visual Studio, but I'll be writing many small programs and don't want to create a new project for each. The other option I've come across is VirtualBox, but I've never used VM before and don't want to break anything.


EDIT: Running wsl -l -v in command prompt returns:

enter image description here

I'm learning C and would like to use VS Code with WSL as my programming environment.

I'm using a Lenovo ThinkPad L460 running Windows 10.

I was able to install VS Code, but got the following error 0x8007000e when I tried installing WSL in PowerShell using wsl --install:

A error was encountered during installation, but installation may continue. Component: 'Ubuntu' Error Code: 0x8007000e
The requested operation is successful. Changes will not be effective until the system is rebooted.

I'm not sure what this error means. This thread says it's due to insufficient storage. I have enough (110GB) free disk space available, so I thought maybe it's complaining about my RAM (4GB)? I'd be grateful if someone could shed some light on this, as I'm a total noob and don't want to break anything.

I've looked into Visual Studio, but I'll be writing many small programs and don't want to create a new project for each. The other option I've come across is VirtualBox, but I've never used VM before and don't want to break anything.


EDIT: Running wsl -l -v in command prompt returns:

enter image description here


EDIT: After following the manual install steps given here, I get WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102:

WslRegisterDistribution failed with error: 0x80370102

added 32 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
added 32 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
added 28 characters in body
Source Link
Loading
Source Link
Loading