Skip to main content
added 106 characters in body
Source Link

I have used laptops with separate manual/mechanical buttons for many years, but need to get a new laptop and they all have full touchpads without separate buttons now. My thumb naturally sits on the bottom left portion of the touchpad to quickly press the left-click button as my index finger moves the cursor, but because this zone is part of the "touch" area of the pad, almost all laptops freak out and move the pointer when my thumb slightly moves, or don't let my index finger move the pointer anymore at all until I lift my thumb up.

Is there a way to disable a certain zone of the touchpad directly over the left-click area so that my thumb can comfortably rest on the pad only to push down and left-click? Seems like this would be a very valuable utility or option in touchpad drivers, but I have yet to find one.

Side note - no, "just use a mouse" is not a good option when you're not at a table/desk with a laptop.

I have used laptops with separate manual/mechanical buttons for many years, but need to get a new laptop and they all have full touchpads without separate buttons now. My thumb naturally sits on the bottom left portion of the touchpad to quickly press the left-click button as my index finger moves the cursor, but because this zone is part of the "touch" area of the pad, almost all laptops freak out and move the pointer when my thumb slightly moves, or don't let my index finger move the pointer anymore at all until I lift my thumb up.

Is there a way to disable a certain zone of the touchpad directly over the left-click area so that my thumb can comfortably rest on the pad only to push down and left-click? Seems like this would be a very valuable utility or option in touchpad drivers, but I have yet to find one.

I have used laptops with separate manual/mechanical buttons for many years, but need to get a new laptop and they all have full touchpads without separate buttons now. My thumb naturally sits on the bottom left portion of the touchpad to quickly press the left-click button as my index finger moves the cursor, but because this zone is part of the "touch" area of the pad, almost all laptops freak out and move the pointer when my thumb slightly moves, or don't let my index finger move the pointer anymore at all until I lift my thumb up.

Is there a way to disable a certain zone of the touchpad directly over the left-click area so that my thumb can comfortably rest on the pad only to push down and left-click? Seems like this would be a very valuable utility or option in touchpad drivers, but I have yet to find one.

Side note - no, "just use a mouse" is not a good option when you're not at a table/desk with a laptop.

added 29 characters in body
Source Link

I have used laptops with separate manual/mechanical buttons for many years, but need to get a new laptop and they all have full touchpads without separate buttons now. My thumb naturally sits on the bottom left portion of the touchpad to quickly prettypress the left-click button as my index finger moves the cursor, but because this zone is part of the "touch" area of the pad, almost all laptops freak out and move the pointer when my thumb slightly moves, or don't let my index finger move the pointer anymore at all until I lift my thumb up.

Is there a way to disable a certain zone of the touchpad directly over the left-click area so that my thumb can comfortably rest on the pad only to push down and left-click? Seems like this would be a very valuable utility or option toin touchpad drivers, but I have yet to find one.

I have used laptops with separate manual/mechanical buttons for many years, but need to get a new laptop and they all have full touchpads without separate buttons now. My thumb naturally sits on the bottom left portion of the touchpad to quickly pretty the left-click button as my index finger moves the cursor, but because this zone is part of the "touch" area of the pad, almost all laptops freak out and move the pointer when my thumb slightly moves, or don't let my index finger move the pointer anymore at all.

Is there a way to disable a certain zone of the touchpad directly over the left-click so that my thumb can comfortably rest on the pad only to push down and left-click? Seems like this would be a very valuable utility or option to touchpad drivers, but I have yet to find one.

I have used laptops with separate manual/mechanical buttons for many years, but need to get a new laptop and they all have full touchpads without separate buttons now. My thumb naturally sits on the bottom left portion of the touchpad to quickly press the left-click button as my index finger moves the cursor, but because this zone is part of the "touch" area of the pad, almost all laptops freak out and move the pointer when my thumb slightly moves, or don't let my index finger move the pointer anymore at all until I lift my thumb up.

Is there a way to disable a certain zone of the touchpad directly over the left-click area so that my thumb can comfortably rest on the pad only to push down and left-click? Seems like this would be a very valuable utility or option in touchpad drivers, but I have yet to find one.

Source Link

How to disable specific zone on touchpad so that thumb resting on button area doesn't cause erratic behavior

I have used laptops with separate manual/mechanical buttons for many years, but need to get a new laptop and they all have full touchpads without separate buttons now. My thumb naturally sits on the bottom left portion of the touchpad to quickly pretty the left-click button as my index finger moves the cursor, but because this zone is part of the "touch" area of the pad, almost all laptops freak out and move the pointer when my thumb slightly moves, or don't let my index finger move the pointer anymore at all.

Is there a way to disable a certain zone of the touchpad directly over the left-click so that my thumb can comfortably rest on the pad only to push down and left-click? Seems like this would be a very valuable utility or option to touchpad drivers, but I have yet to find one.