Skip to main content

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

8
  • Open Device manager > Mouse and other pointing devices > Right-click on syaptics PS/2 port TouchPad > Update Driver > Browse My computer for drivers > Let me pick... > uncheck "Show compatible hardware" > Under "Manufacturer" choose Synaptics and double click on " synaptics PS/2 port TouchPad". Restart and check again. Commented Aug 21, 2022 at 8:27
  • Hi @SaaranshGarg, I have tried that and restarted my laptop, and unfortunately I still cannot see the additional tab "Device Settings" :( Thank you for trying to help though, most appreciated.
    – user27771
    Commented Aug 21, 2022 at 8:47
  • Your mouse properties image is very partial. Which driver is used for the touchpad?
    – harrymc
    Commented Aug 21, 2022 at 10:41
  • The settings you showed are not Synaptics settings (I have a laptop with Synaptics). (1) Are you sure the touchpad is working (no hardware error)? (2) Update BIOS and the Synaptics driver both.
    – anon
    Commented Aug 21, 2022 at 12:05
  • @harrymc sorry about the partial pic, I just used it to show that the device settings tab was missing, I have added a new pic showing the driver details.
    – user27771
    Commented Aug 21, 2022 at 12:35