Skip to main content
5 events
when toggle format what by license comment
May 26, 2022 at 18:32 history bounty ended fireshadow52
May 21, 2022 at 2:29 comment added fireshadow52 I do plan to try to build xterm from the source on Solaris and then moving that to NetBSD to see if I can get an more valuable information from that.
May 19, 2022 at 23:20 comment added Greg A. Woods It is curious that file failed -- but perhaps not so odd that other tools which might try to do networking operations have crashed (who might be trying to do DNS lookups). Perhaps the crash is happening in a shared library, e.g. libc. Solaris has a number of special processes that may have to be running to do various network operations, especially name lookups (though crashes when they are not running is odd)
May 19, 2022 at 15:12 comment added fireshadow52 Thank you for your response! I've confirmed that the /etc/netconfig file on my Solaris VM matches /emul/svr4/etc/netconfig. Further, smaller Solaris binaries, such as ls, echo, true, false all function as they should. I also attempted other Solaris binaries, such as file, and who, and those generated segmentation violations too. Running ktrace on those revealed extremely similar output to the output that I included in the OP, so I suspect the issue is at a lower-level.
May 19, 2022 at 5:27 history answered Greg A. Woods CC BY-SA 4.0