Skip to main content
The 2024 Developer Survey results are live! See the results

You are not logged in. Your edit will be placed in a queue until it is peer reviewed.

We welcome edits that make the post easier to understand and more valuable for readers. Because community members review edits, please try to make the post substantially better than how you found it, for example, by fixing grammar or adding additional resources and hyperlinks.

3
  • I always shut down my PC before leaving the room. The power doesn't go out randomly, only when I take my card out of its place, and as I said I do it only when leaving the room because I have to. That is why I started with disabling fast boot and similar settings, because I thought the PC is in some kind of sleep mode and when it completely loses power something breaks.
    – Vukašin
    Commented Mar 3, 2022 at 21:11
  • 2 comments because of maximum characters. So here for example I will be going out in a couple of minutes. I will shutdown my PC normally, take the card out and leave the room, the power will go out as intended, and when I come back put the card back in and get the power back the only way for the PC to post is if I hold the power and reset button for 10 seconds, the PC will troubleshoot I guess and fix the problem but only for that boot.
    – Vukašin
    Commented Mar 3, 2022 at 21:12
  • A guess would be that the power down is not very orderly, with perhaps power surges, which is extremely unhealthy for the computer. A UPS will help in this case. Even just a surge protector might help.
    – harrymc
    Commented Mar 3, 2022 at 21:44