Skip to main content
added 73 characters in body
Source Link
@DavidSchwartz The information you give is technically correct, and it's good information to know. But the conclusion that you come to that you should always have a page file regardless of how much RAM you have is not correct and I stand by my claim that this should not be the accepted answer. – 
Jason Wheeler
 Feb 21

Jason is exactly right. Now that we are all running 64 BIT memory servers, NO page file configurations are excellent for WEB servers, for example. And since Windows servers are EXTREMELY stable now, the risk is significantly reduced, ESPECIALLY if you are running the SDCARD/RAM scenario most high-end VM shops run: Conclusion: NO SWAPFILE servers configs, especially virtualized servers, are now a completely reasonable consideration. I mean, do you KNOW how much fast SDCARDs COST? I've been working in Windows for DECADES and I tell you I have used zero swap file servers over the years to solve many problems. Tell me the last time you had a BSOD? IMHO, we all should realize it's time to test zero swap file configs.

Please don't downvote just because it may not be written so well.

@DavidSchwartz The information you give is technically correct, and it's good information to know. But the conclusion that you come to that you should always have a page file regardless of how much RAM you have is not correct and I stand by my claim that this should not be the accepted answer. – 
Jason Wheeler
 Feb 21

Jason is exactly right. Now that we are all running 64 BIT memory servers, NO page file configurations are excellent for WEB servers, for example. And since Windows servers are EXTREMELY stable now, the risk is significantly reduced, ESPECIALLY if you are running the SDCARD/RAM scenario most high-end VM shops run: Conclusion: NO SWAPFILE servers configs, especially virtualized servers, are now a completely reasonable consideration. I mean, do you KNOW how much fast SDCARDs COST? I've been working in Windows for DECADES and I tell you I have used zero swap file servers over the years to solve many problems. Tell me the last time you had a BSOD? IMHO, we all should realize it's time to test zero swap file configs.

@DavidSchwartz The information you give is technically correct, and it's good information to know. But the conclusion that you come to that you should always have a page file regardless of how much RAM you have is not correct and I stand by my claim that this should not be the accepted answer. – 
Jason Wheeler
 Feb 21

Jason is exactly right. Now that we are all running 64 BIT memory servers, NO page file configurations are excellent for WEB servers, for example. And since Windows servers are EXTREMELY stable now, the risk is significantly reduced, ESPECIALLY if you are running the SDCARD/RAM scenario most high-end VM shops run: Conclusion: NO SWAPFILE servers configs, especially virtualized servers, are now a completely reasonable consideration. I mean, do you KNOW how much fast SDCARDs COST? I've been working in Windows for DECADES and I tell you I have used zero swap file servers over the years to solve many problems. Tell me the last time you had a BSOD? IMHO, we all should realize it's time to test zero swap file configs.

Please don't downvote just because it may not be written so well.

Source Link

@DavidSchwartz The information you give is technically correct, and it's good information to know. But the conclusion that you come to that you should always have a page file regardless of how much RAM you have is not correct and I stand by my claim that this should not be the accepted answer. – 
Jason Wheeler
 Feb 21

Jason is exactly right. Now that we are all running 64 BIT memory servers, NO page file configurations are excellent for WEB servers, for example. And since Windows servers are EXTREMELY stable now, the risk is significantly reduced, ESPECIALLY if you are running the SDCARD/RAM scenario most high-end VM shops run: Conclusion: NO SWAPFILE servers configs, especially virtualized servers, are now a completely reasonable consideration. I mean, do you KNOW how much fast SDCARDs COST? I've been working in Windows for DECADES and I tell you I have used zero swap file servers over the years to solve many problems. Tell me the last time you had a BSOD? IMHO, we all should realize it's time to test zero swap file configs.